Jump to content
  • Sign Up
sillyyak

Are Dill Pickles Safe To Eat?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Vinegar (with the exception of malt vinegar) is generally accepted as gluten-free. Nevertheless, some people do have problems with vinegar. Malt vinegar will be labelled as such. If it just says vinegar, enjoy!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Are Kosher dill pickles safe to eat? The jar said they had vingear in it but I am not sure. Please advise. Thank you

I react to grain vinagers but not to a distilled corn vinager. I usually call the company to find out what they use. Pickles are also easy to make yourself. I use Heinz white distilled vinager in mine because I know that it is from corn. We have a wegmans here that labels all their gluten-free stuff and only a few of the pickles they make have the gluten free label. That is kind of red flag for me. I find when in doubt call is the best, plus sometimes the company will send gluten-free lists and coupons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was always told Heinz / French's / Hellmann's brand condiments were safe (because of the way they distill their vinegar). I've used Hellmann's mayo, French's mustard, and Heinz brand pickles, ketchup, & BBQ sauce without problems.

While on the topic of condiments, I called Old El Paso about their salsa, apparently that's gluten free as well. However, Tostito's brand is not (found that out the hard way).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are Kosher dill pickles safe to eat? The jar said they had vingear in it but I am not sure. Please advise. Thank you

There are some brands of pickles that are fermented and don't contain vinegar of any kind. Bubbie's is one brand that I know of. I find them in health food stores in the refrigerated section. And don't be alarmed by the cloudy brine--it's supposed to be that way. They also have wonderful sauerkraut. Yay Bubbies!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please note that this thread is 6 years old. Product info discussed may have changed in 6 years.

Most vinegar is considered safe for Celiacs. The exception is Malt vinegar which contains barley malt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please note that this thread is 6 years old. Product info discussed may have changed in 6 years.

Most vinegar is considered safe for Celiacs. The exception is Malt vinegar which contains barley malt.

There are a lot of brands of pickles that I can't eat.  I have always been told to stay clear of things that say natural flavors because that can get you into trouble.  I know I react to some dill pickles so not all pickles being safe is still true

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are a lot of brands of pickles that I can't eat. I have always been told to stay clear of things that say natural flavors because that can get you into trouble. I know I react to some dill pickles so not all pickles being safe is still true

Once again, you have dredged up a very old thread. There is no reason to believe there is gluten in pickles. I have never seen it. Please explain which brands and perhaps link to the ingredients? Having a " reaction" to something does not mean it has gluten. Perhaps there are spices or just the acid that bothers you?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just read that sulfate might be in pickles I am allergic to sulfate so if this is true that is why I feel itchy after eating them I honestly didn't notice it till my boyfriend said people are saying pickles make them sick  then I felt itchy everywhere even in my mouth I had vlasic pickles the jar said gluten free and my stomach doesn't hurt but I do itch I just ate them also maybe an hour ago 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this is a really old thread, although it has been resurrected several times!  lolz - I eat pickles, I eat claussen pickles - I like it when the label says 'white wine vinegar' or 'cider vinegar' or 'distilled vinegar' or better yet, as kosher pickles should be: cured with kosher salt...…  but even the plain old 'vinegar' is supposed to be deemed safe. 

I find it easier to make my own pickles.  all you need are cukes, salt, water, and whatever spices you want, like dill or pickling spices.  I like a little dill with some crushed red pepper, leave the cukes submerged under the salt brine for a few days or however long you want to ferment them ( I love half sours - only take a few days)  but I can eat store-bought pickles as long as they don't have MALT vinegar which is made from barley.

sulphites are not gluten - if you have a sulphate problem, you best be reading all your bacon and sandwich meat labels!

as usual, alllllllllllllllll y'allllllllllllllll read your labels!!  

if anybody wants to further discuss the finer or darker side(s) of pickle ingredients or consumption, please let this old thread die a natural death and start one from this decade, lolz!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...