Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

sorry if one of these are already posted but i dont know what happened but the computer went to another screen while i was still writing.so i was at the pool one day with my friend and my sister and my friend said lets have some air heads and i said that i didnt know if i could have them because it had modified food starch. so if any body knows if there gluten free please tell me . thank you, chloe b. :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Chloe's not on the computer right now so she asked me to find out if air heads are also dairy free. She has just recently started eating no dairy, so she now has to find out, again, if all her favorite treats are ok.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
what other candy is gluton free....

There are a lot, what do you like? Smarties and m&m's both are. You might want to start a new thread on this!!

Welcome to the board!

Yep they are fine:) enjoy

Were you answering the gluten-free question, or also the soy and dairy question?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There are a lot, what do you like? Smarties and m&m's both are. You might want to start a new thread on this!!

Welcome to the board!

Were you answering the gluten-free question, or also the soy and dairy question?

CarlaB!

In Canada, Smarties are NOT gluten-free... We call what you call Smarties "Rockets". I just want to clear that up in case she is Canadian! In Canada, Smarties are like M&Ms, but they have wheat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Chloe's not on the computer right now so she asked me to find out if air heads are also dairy free. She has just recently started eating no dairy, so she now has to find out, again, if all her favorite treats are ok.

Here is a list that I put together 2 years ago when my kids were also dairy free. Most of it should still be accurate. Just double check the labels before you buy.

I had gotten a copy of that list a few weeks ago. I took the liberty of modifying it to work with a gluten and dairy free diet. Make sure you always read the labels though since manufacturers change ingredients all too often.

GLUTEN FREE & DAIRY FREE SUGGESTIONS:

� Airheads (January 2004)

� Allan Brand Candy Canes

� Altoids - gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley, or oats (Kraft product)

� ANDI Bars (Gluten Free and Casein Free) available through www.glutenfreepantry.com

� Astro Pops

� Bazooka Gum (August 2004)

� Beechnut: Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamon flavors (September 2003)

� Big League Chew Gum (Original, Grape, Strawberry)

� Bottle caps

� Breath savers Mints (Sugar Free, Iced Mint, Mint Cinnamon, Peppermint, Spearmint, Vanilla Mint, WinterGreen)

� Bubbilicious Gum (April 2003)

� Bubble Yum Gum

� Candy Corn by Goelitz (October 2003) is also VEGETARIAN. Verified: 10/22/03

� Carefree Gum (September 2003)

� Certs Mints

� Charms: Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy September -2003)

� Charms: Squares, Pops, Blow Pops, Super Blow Pops Zip A Doo Da, Family Fun, Super Sour Balls, Pops Galore (October 2003)

� Chicklets - regular and tiny size (January 2004)

� Chick-O Stick

� Clorets Gum

� Clorets Mints

� Crows by Tootsie (March 2004)

� Dentyne Gum all September 2003

� Dots by Tootsie - Regular, Tropical, or Wild Berry are gluten-free (March 2004)

� Double Bubble Gum (October 2003)

� Eclipse Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)

� EnjoyLifeFoods BIG Cookies -available through www.glutenfreepantry.com (Check ingredients to make sure the flavor you buy is dairy free)

� EnviroKidz Cereal Bars (except Chocolate flavored:contains milk) (marked gluten-free) (September 2004)

� Extra Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)

� Farley: Candy Corn, Harvest Mix, Jellybird Eggs, Holiday Creams (Christmas Easter) (September 2003)

� Farley: Banana Chips, Pineapple Wedges, Fruit Snacks (September 2003)

� Farley candies: Fruit Flavored Jells & JuJu & Bears, Giant Jellies, Gummy Bears, Jelly Bird Eggs, Jelly Rings, JuJu Coins, Jumbo Jelly Beans, Orange & Lemon Slices, Speckled Bird Eggs, Tiny Jelly Eggs

� Ferrara Pan: all, including Red Hots, Lemonheads, Jaw Busters, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Black Forest Gummies, Grape Heads, Jellybeans (March 2003)

� Freedent: peppermint, spearmint, winter fresh (September 2003)

� Fresh Fruit, Of course!!!!

� Fruit Stripe gum - all (September 2003)

� Fun Dip

� General Mills general statement: read label. Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed

� Glennys Potato Crisps and Soy Crisps (assorted flavors are gluten free and can be found at www.GlutenSolutions.com)

� Gobstoppers

� Goldenberg's Peanut Chews by Just Born

� Honey Acres candies: Honey Gummies (are also vegetarian), and Honey Mints (are also vegetarian) (September 2003)

� Hot Tamales (February 2004)

� Ice Breakers Gum

� Jelly Belly (All flavors of Jelly Beans EXCEPT: Cafe Latte, Buttered Toast, Caramel Corn, Buttered Popcorn, Chocolate Cherry Cake, Chocolate Pudding, Strawberry Cheesecake) Do not get bags of assorted due to cross contamination from these flavors.

� Jolly Rancher Lollipops

� Jolly Ranchers (Hershey's product. Check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats)

� Just Born: Valentines Day Mike and Ike, Valentines Day Peep Hearts, Easter Peeps, Eggs, Bunnies, Easter Mike and Ike, Jelly Beans, Halloween Pumpkins, Ghosts, Cats, Christmas Trees, Snowmen, Teenie Beanie Holiday Mix (February 2004)

� Kettle Valley brand Fruit Leather (apple, Tropical Blend, Watermelon, Strawberry, Raspberry, WildBerry) available at www.allergygrocer.com

� Kraft will list major allergens

� Laffy Taffy by Willy Wonka (October 2003)

� Lifesavers general statement: gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley or oats (Kraft product)

� Lifesavers Gummies

� Marvel Candy Sticks (marked as gluten-free) and found at some Wal-Mart stores

� Mega WarHeads (June 2003)

� Mike and Ike (February 2004)

� Nabisco general statement: read label. Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed

� Necco Brands (Candy Stix, Mary Janes, Mary Janes Peanut Butter Kisses, Wafers, Talking Pumpkins, Wintergreen Lozenges, Conversation Hearts (September 2003)

� Nerds by Willy Wonka (October 2003)

� Orbit Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)

� Pez (June 2004)

� Pixie Sticks

� Pretzel Packs made by Ener-G Foods or Glutino (specially marked gluten free) and are available at www.GlutenSolutions.com

� Running Rabbit Licorice (confirm gluten-free status) (Ingredients: corn syrup, turbinado sugar, cornstarch, dextrose, licorice root extract, tapioca dextrin, anise oil, salt, separating agents (mineral oil & bees wax). 5oz box (approx. 35 pieces) Free of: Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Egg, Soy, Rice, Potato, Yeast, Sesame and is available at www.allergygrocer.com

� Runts

� Sees (Asst Sugar Sticks, Candy Canes) (January 2003)

� Sesame Seed Crunch (INGREDIENTS: Sesame Seeds, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Honey)

� Skittles (September 2003)

� Smarties Brand Smarties (October 2003)

� Smarties Double Lolly, Mega Lolly (October 2003)

� Sour Patch Kids by Trebor Allen Swedish Fish (Sepetmber 2003)

� Spangler LolliPops: Dum Dums, Astro Pops, Picture Pops (June 2004)

� Spangler: all candy canes, xmas shop pops (December 2003)

� Spree (February 2004)

� St. Claires Sweets (All are gluten, casein, nut, egg, GMO, soy, corn, peanut, shell fish free and they are certified organic. They have certifications from all their suppliers that they are gluten and all the other allergens free. And available through www.econturalsolutions.com.

� Starburst Fruit Chews (September 2003)

� Starburst JellyBeans (September 2003)

� Stretch Island 100% Fruit Snack (Apricot*, Berry, Blackberry, Great Grape, Rare Raspberry) (September 2004)

� Sunkist chewy candies - Fruit Gems, Jelly Beans, Orange & Cream Chews, Super Sour Stars October 2003)

� Sunkist Fruit Slices (April 2004)

� Swedish Fish by Trebor Allen (September 2003)

� SweetTarts (February 2004)

� Tangy Taffy

� Tart N Tiny

� TicTacs (April 2003)

� Topps: all are gluten-free, (but read labels for dairy), including Ring Pops, Push Pops, Baby Bottle Pops, Juicy Drop Pops and Chews, etc. (August 2004)

� Trident Gum all (June 2004)

� Trolli Gummi: Peachie O's, Squiggles, Sour Bite Crawlers, Octopus (September 2003)

� Tropical Source 100% Gluten Free & Dairy Free chocolate bars (available at Whole Foods and other healthfood stores) http://www.nspiredfoods.com/tropicalsrc.html

� Welchs Fruit Snacks all (April 2004)

� Wonka: check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats

� Wrigleys Gum (all are gluten-free June 2004)

� Zours made by JustBorn (February 2004)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi -- I'm still new at this. I'd like to contact the company that makes airheads directly to check to see if the artificial ingredients they use are gluten-free. Does anyone know how to contact them? I couldn't find a U.S. contact. Or, has anyone talked directly to them or is the info about the gluten free status coming from other boards? Thanks so much!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I talked to a rep today. She said that the regular airheads and the airhead sours do not contain ingredients containing gluten. However, the airhead extreme and the airhead fruit spinners DO contain wheat. She said that the products containing wheat were processed on separate lines from the others. THe phone number is 859.283.1234.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey

If anyone is travelling always check food labels even if you can eat it where you live

In new zealand we cant eat m&m's or smarties!

And some Snickers bars you can eat but the fun size ones you cant?(I think thats right! check the label before eating :) )

Different countries have different ingredients!

Alena

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...