This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Chocolate?

MandyCandy

MandyCandy Rookie

Is chocolate off limits?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Aerin328 Apprentice

I'm a newbie at this but I've heard processed chocolate is often off limits b/c of cross contamination while "pure" chocolate is OK. I know in my own case chocolate still disrupts the fragile digestive track and I avoid it! Perhaps another poster has details?

Lisa Mentor
B) I eat M&M's by color only........start with brown and whatever suits me, other colors get devoured. I have a bowl full of greens left. B)
flagbabyds Collaborator

i eat hersheys bars

tarnalberry Community Regular

chocolate comes from cocoa beans, not from grain, and isn't related to wheat. as with anything with ingredients, however, you ALWAYS have to read the ingredients. I have never seen a pure cocoa powder that wasn't gluten-free, but I've seen a dark chocolate that had barley malt in it. things get more complicated from there, and you just have to read ingredients.

(I tend to prefer tropical source - especially their chocolate chips, dagoba, and endangered species chocolates.)

Rusla Enthusiast

Hershey's, Effem, Cadbury are very good at listing all ingredients and whether their chocolate has been manufactured in facilities that have wheat or gluten products in them. Cadbury peanunt butter bars are a no no and unfortunately many Lindt and the Terry's Oranges are off limits.

eleep Enthusiast