Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I was at the store today picking up canned tuna, which I would naturally think to be safe. Bumblebee solid white tuna in water has "vegetable broth" lised as one of the ingredients. Does anyone know which if any canned tuna are safe to eat? What about mayo?


marissa

.be the change you wish to see in the world.

gluten free since august 3, 2006

soy free since september 9, 2006

positive blood test august 2, 2006

positive biopsy august 10, 2006

diagnosed with hoshimoto's hypothyroidism in 4th grade

diagnosed with PCOS sometime in high school

"genetically" extremely high cholesterol and tricyclycerides

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I just buy Clover Leaf tuna in water/salt. For mayonnaise, Kraft will clearly indicate gluten.


Carrie Faith

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease in March 2004

Postitive tTg Blood Test, December 2003

Positive Biopsy, March 3, 2004

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good question...I have starkist tuna in water....mine says tuna, water, salt, and veg broth (soy beans).


Myself-Age 25....I have had symptoms since at least 1998 if not since infancy (was diagnosed with malnutrition as a small child)...Positive results with gluten free diet!

Hannah-Age 5.....Has symptoms....Inconclusive blood tests....Positive diet response to both gluten free and lactose free!

Grace-Age 1.....Born at 29 weeks due to me having celiac....Has reflux and a feeding tube.

Husband-Not Celiac......has found that he does feel better when not eating allot of gluten.....is gluten free at home.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whole Foods and Clover Leaf are what we have here.


Gluten-free, Vegan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was at the store today picking up canned tuna, which I would naturally think to be safe. Bumblebee solid white tuna in water has "vegetable broth" lised as one of the ingredients. Does anyone know which if any canned tuna are safe to eat? What about mayo?

I have eaten Bumble Bee and Starkist with no problems but if I were you I would call them to make sure all varieties are safe.

Tom

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"vegetable broth" can also mean MSG - if that's an issue with you.

To avoid potential problems I only eat tuna that has nothing else added except salt and water.


Valda

Enterolab results: ...two genes for gluten intolerance ...casein intolerance

other sensitivities: corn, eggs, soy, potato, tapioca

Hypoglycemic

Sensitivity to high EMFs [electromagnetic frequency] (limits my time in front of the computer)

Living a healthier, happier life.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.Psalm 139: 9,10

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All those canned tunas with "broth" are gluten-free. The vegetable broth is from just what it says -- vegetables. In fact, if you go to the website for BB, Star Kist, Chicken of the Sea, and other major brands they will tell you they are gluten-free. In fact, it's always a good idea to check websites. The only tuna I've ever found with gluten is one or two of those flavored foil packets.

I've yet to find a mayo that has gluten, but I know for certain that Hellman's, Best, Kraft and Kroger are gluten-free.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was at the store today picking up canned tuna, which I would naturally think to be safe. Bumblebee solid white tuna in water has "vegetable broth" lised as one of the ingredients. Does anyone know which if any canned tuna are safe to eat? What about mayo?

I ate some store brand tuna and got very sick to my stomach - how can I know for certain if the tuna is gluten free. What exact name brands only have water and salt in them. I'm trying hard but seem to eat something that is contaminated with wheat at least once a week - my stomach seems to be getting more atuned or sensitive the more I am on this diet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Get StarKist tuna fillet solid light tuna in water. Ingreds light tuna water and salt. And tell them Charlie sent ya.

lol sorry I'm getting its time to eat and my blood sugar must be low.

But that's what I eat. Its in a blue can. I use hellmans mayo.

Gail


Gluten Free since Jan. 06

Gluten intolerant. DQ 0301 DQ 0602

Lactose intolerant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I vaguely remember seeing someone on this board complain about the vegetable broth in canned tuna. I can't remember if it was because of the soy, or if there is actually soy sauce in the vegetable broth? I guess we need to check with the manufacturer....sigh :angry:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a tuna that clearly lists wheat on the label. I know Starkist is safe, I use thiers, it may have been Chicken of the Sea. If you go to thier web site it will state which products are gluten free, but there is definitly canned tuna out there with wheat on the label.

Elonwy


Positive Bloodwork 7/8/05

Inconclusive Biopsy 7/20/05

gluten-free since 7/23/05

Never felt better.

"So here's us, on the raggedy edge, come a day when there won't be room for naughty men like us to slip about at all. - Malcolm Reynolds"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't remember which it is, but the tuna that clearly lists wheat is a flavored tuna (something like teriyaki), not the plain stuff. Vegetable broth might have soy in it, I don't know, but it does NOT have soy sauce.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

there are flavoured tunas here in canada by a brand called Clover Leaf. they are all gluten-free except for one (a thai-type flavour, i don't quite recall), and, as aforementioned, it is clearly labelled.


Gluten-free, Vegan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've yet to find a mayo that has gluten, but I know for certain that Hellman's, Best, Kraft and Kroger are gluten-free.

richard

Just to clarify, because I'm confused: I thought that mustard was considered NOT safe for celiacs? My jar of Kraft Miracle Whip has mustard in it. :unsure:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to clarify, because I'm confused: I thought that mustard was considered NOT safe for celiacs? My jar of Kraft Miracle Whip has mustard in it. :unsure:

This is a really old thread from 2006, but are you talking about mustard the spice or mustard the condiment? Either one *could* have gluten but most are safe. I have seen a mustard powder (spice) mentioned here that had gluten (the brand name eludes me right now) and I have seen people post that their mustard condiments contained wheat. However, most of the mustard I have found is safe. I use mustard (in both forms) in my homemade dressings. As far as the Miracle Whip goes, Kraft has a stated policy that they will not hide any form of gluten on the label so if you don't see wheat, barley, rye or malt on a Kraft product it's likely gluten free.


A simple meal with love is better than a feast where there is hatred. Proverbs 15:17 (CEV)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a really old thread from 2006, but are you talking about mustard the spice or mustard the condiment? Either one *could* have gluten but most are safe. I have seen a mustard powder (spice) mentioned here that had gluten (the brand name eludes me right now) and I have seen people post that their mustard condiments contained wheat. However, most of the mustard I have found is safe. I use mustard (in both forms) in my homemade dressings. As far as the Miracle Whip goes, Kraft has a stated policy that they will not hide any form of gluten on the label so if you don't see wheat, barley, rye or malt on a Kraft product it's likely gluten free.

I meant either one. I was under the impression that mustard, period, contained gluten. I wish I could find the website where I read that, as it was a while ago and is no longer in my history. I've been avoiding things with mustard in them (like Heinz original baked beans, honey mustard, mayo, etc etc) because I thought they weren't safe.

Just when I thought I was finally getting everything figured out :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When "mustard" is listed on an ingredient list in something like mayo, they mean ground mustard seed. It's a spice, with no gluten. If you buy a bottle of yellow mustard or honey mustard for sandwiches or hot dogs, you do need to check all the rest of the ingredients because sometimes they do have gluten (usually flour for texture).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When "mustard" is listed on an ingredient list in something like mayo, they mean ground mustard seed. It's a spice, with no gluten. If you buy a bottle of yellow mustard or honey mustard for sandwiches or hot dogs, you do need to check all the rest of the ingredients because sometimes they do have gluten (usually flour for texture).

Skylark,

Thank you for the clarification. So for something like mayo or baked beans, the mustard included in the ingredients is ok, but I have to check yellow mustard/honey mustard for wheat? wheat starch?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Skylark,

Thank you for the clarification. So for something like mayo or baked beans, the mustard included in the ingredients is ok, but I have to check yellow mustard/honey mustard for wheat? wheat starch?

To follow up on my last post...I went to the Heinz website and found a list of ALL their products that are gluten-free in Canada. I have to say, they have the absolute best website I've seen. It's so organized and clear!

Anyway, I guess I misunderstood what I originally read about mustard!

Also, French's claims all their mustards are gluten-free, so that's good as well. I checked my Kraft Miracle Whip again and did not see anything at all pertaining to anything gluten-y so that appears to be safe as well.

Whew! Thanks everyone for the help, sorry to hijack a thread!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This old worry is about vinegar.

Prepared mustard (the yellow stuff in a jar or squeeze bottle) usually has vinegar. Unless it is malt vinegar, the vinegar is gluten-free. I have never seen a prepared mustard with malt vinegar. Vinegar was once thought to be unsafe for celiacs (affecting almost every condiment imaginable), but we have known for years that vinegar is safe, except for malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as "malt vinegar."

When mustard is an ingredient in a product, it is, as previously stated, ground mustard seed which is definitely gluten-free.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the info about vinegar and the old gluten-free lists. I wanted to add that I have seen wheat flour occasionally in specialty gourmet mustard. It's just a case of "read the label". :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Vinegar was once thought to be unsafe for celiacs (affecting almost every condiment imaginable), but we have known for years that vinegar is safe, except for malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as "malt vinegar."

I must admit, I had known too many people who have reacted to vinegar to feel safe with it. NOT because of the processing, however - I am aware that it has been determined that the processing involved in making vinegar eliminates the gluten. As I understand it, that was the original worry, wasn't it? That the processing might not remove all gluten?

But it seems to me that if you have a facility that is using wheat to make its product, then that means that it contains the same risk that any other company has if it makes a gluten free product in a gluten filled environment: contamination. I think that's a risk that seems to get ignored. Probably it seems less of an issue amidst the frustration of scientists trying to educate someone on what the science behind vinegar actually is.

I'm sure some companies do a much better job of keeping their vinegar gluten free and eliminating potential contamination situations, of course. But I'm pretty sure some don't do such a stellar job, either, especially when they are not trying to get a gluten free label for their product.


T.H.

Gluten free since August 10, 2009.
21 years with undiagnosed Celiac Disease

23 years with undiagnosed sulfite sensitivity

25 years with undiagnosed mast cell activation disorder (MCAD) 

 

Daughter: celiac and MCAD positive

Son: gluten intolerant
Father, brother: celiac positive

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Of course, many companies make many products, and some of them contain wheat.

When evaluating the risk, consider these factors.

Do you allow any products which contain gluten anywhere in your home? If you do, then your home is a "shared facility."

Do you have specially designated cutlery and plates, and a separate dishwasher for them? If not, then you have lots of "shared equipment."

Do you ever eat at a restaurant? If so, it is a shared facility with shared equipment.

Decide for yourself what risks you will take. If I have an adverse reaction to a food, I stop eating it. If not, I realize that I take "shared" risks on a frequent basis.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This old worry is about vinegar.

Prepared mustard (the yellow stuff in a jar or squeeze bottle) usually has vinegar. Unless it is malt vinegar, the vinegar is gluten-free. I have never seen a prepared mustard with malt vinegar. Vinegar was once thought to be unsafe for celiacs (affecting almost every condiment imaginable), but we have known for years that vinegar is safe, except for malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as "malt vinegar."

When mustard is an ingredient in a product, it is, as previously stated, ground mustard seed which is definitely gluten-free.

Peter, thank you for clearing this up. I was so confused and really missing mustard :( Is mustard seed, in its natural state (not ground) also gluten-free?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites