This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What Am I Doing Wrong?

Sweetfudge

Sweetfudge Community Regular

Ok, so I've been dealing with this celiac thing for 3 months now, and I think I'm okay with it. But I love bread, and I don't want to live without it. I also haven't found a storebought product that I love, and that reminds me of "real" bread. I have been attempting to make some bread on my own, and so far haven't had much luck. I was a pretty good cook before dx, but now I just want to SCREAM! Every time I try and bake a loaf of bread, it sucks. Well, actually it doesn't cook in the middle. The outside will get nice and hard, then dark, then very close to black, but the inside is still gooey. I'm following the recipes to the letter. Iv'e tried several different recipes, Bette Hagmans, people online, etc, but nothing works. WHY does this happen? And what do I need to do in order to fix it so I can stop feeding the birds my expensive failures?#@@!@$#$

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

AndreaB Contributor

In the annalise roberts cookbook she says to bake for 10 minutes, cover with foil and bake for another 40-45 minutes. I forget the temp....between 350-400. Do you cover yours with foil? That will allow you to cook it without it burning.

Yeah, bette hagman says that too. I did, I let it cook for 15 min, then foiled for 45 minutes. Baked at 400, i think...can't quite remember. But it said to bake for an hour, after an hour the dough was still very gooey.

AndreaB Contributor

Try cutting back on the liquid or adding more flour. You want it to be thick.