This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New To Group/daughter's Blood Test Indicates Celiac

Kibbie

Kibbie Contributor

I just recieved a phone call from our Pedi. Gastero. she said that my Daughters (17 months old) blood test indicated Celiac's.

I am really new to this all and don't know where to start.... any advice or help would be appreaciated!

Thanks

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Nantzie Collaborator

You're at the best place to learn about this. My advice is to read, read, read on this site.

I know this can be overwhelming at first, and there's a lot of stuff to learn. But don't worry, within a month, you'll be on here giving advice too. It's easy once you get the hang of it.

Let's start with her favorite foods. What are her favorite things to eat?

Nancy

AndreaB Contributor

Welcome Kibbie! :D

I have 3 children, 2 have tested positive through enterolab with gluten sensitivity. My youngest hasn't been tested yet.

I agree with nantzie. Read, read, read on this forum. The diet can be overwhelming at first, especially if you are not used to reading labels.

Make sure you cut out all gluten sources....wheat/rye/barley/oats/ (I believe spelt also). Don't forget to check shampoo, soaps and toothpaste. Playdough has gluten in it also.

If you have any specific questions please ask.

What state do you live in? I'm in SW Washington State if you are anywhere near there.

Kibbie Contributor

For the most part I'm not too afraid of this.... and shes a big time fruits and veggie girl :)