Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Callyboy

Newbie Alert

HiGuys, sorry if this post is in the wrong place, but i am at home at the moment and on dial up, which is a pain as its soooo slow.

I am new to this and would like some advice please.

My sister has just been diagnosed(spelling ?) with celiac disease and told me that i should check things out with my doc (genetic right ?). Anyway, she has just popped over from Canada and we got talking about it in the pub !! she descrbed some of the symptons she has, and i was horrified that all the things she said i seem to suffer from !!! fatigue, flatulence,lower back pain in the morning, sudden need to go to the toilet and crap(sorry)(been caught out a few times after drinking down the pub(beer!!!!)- so bad !!)stomach feels very acidic, depression - need i go on ? anyway, what you guys reckon ?

I have ordered a blood test kit from the internet that test for it, and for some reason i am kinda hoping i have it, as my life is pretty crap health wise at the moment. I have had a lot of stress in the last 3 years, and i have read that this can trigger things off. right ?

Look forward to hearing from you guys.

cheers

Pete

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Since your sister has is and you have the symptoms, there's a high probability you have it. If you're going to be tested, unless it's by Enterolab, you need to keep consuming gluten until after the testing.

gluten-free 12/05

diagnosed with Lyme Disease 12/06

who did you order the test from?

Its good you are being tested. Celiac is genetic, and leading Celiac experts recommend that ALL first degree relatives (siblings, parents, children) are tested for it.

Hi Carlab,

Whow that was a quick reply - Thanks.