Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Hi,

I am new to this post and am currently undergoing tests to see if I have this disease. I was quite surprised to have my Doctor suggest it and had never heard of it before but I am a petite female who in the past 6 months has lost alot of weight and am now losing my hair. Its quite freaky and due to my intestinal problems, he is suggesting it could be Celiac disease. Has anyone else experienced similar symptoms?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Yup. :rolleyes: <--- looking up at my receded hairline.

It's the malabsorption. The damaged small intestine can't absorb vitamins and the following vitamin deficiencies cause all sorts of havoc.

My hair is in the process of growing back (after 1+ yr gluten-free), now instead of balding I look like I had a really bad perm. (we need a "bad hair day" smiley :lol: )

Me too. I am also anemic. :huh:

jennyj

Diagnosed March 2006 celiac sprue

Severe iron deficent anemia Jan 2002

Hypoglecemia 2000

"I can do all things through Christ who strenghtens me"

Yup. :rolleyes: <--- looking up at my receded hairline.

It's the malabsorption. The damaged small intestine can't absorb vitamins and the following vitamin deficiencies cause all sorts of havoc.

My hair is in the process of growing back (after 1+ yr gluten-free), now instead of balding I look like I had a really bad perm. (we need a "bad hair day" smiley :lol: )

Really?? So, I'm not going insane? But, It will grow back!? Is there anything I can do now to counteract the process? I don't mean to sound so superficial but its scaring me so bad and I dread washing my hair every morning.

Hi Taffy,

My hair was falling out in the year and a half before I was diagnosed. I actually had spots where you could see my scalp.