This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Thought I Was A Newbie...maybe Not?

indigo1213

indigo1213 Newbie

Here's the thing: about 4 months ago I went to my general physician with complaints of bloating, extreme gas, and varying degrees of diarrhea or constipation, and cramping, whenever I ate pizza, white bread, pasta or beer. It was horrible. I felt so gross all of the time.

Ignoring the issues of I have with bread or pasta, my doctor immediately asked me if I drank milk. I said I did -- skim milk -- with my breakfast cereal in the mornings, and then sometimes a glass here or there, depending on what I was eating. I should also mention that at this time I was also dieting and drinking Slim Fast shakes for lunch -- and those, too, would give me horrible cramping, bloating and gas, and sometimes diarrrhea/constipation.

My doc told me to remove all dairy from my diet and immediately diagnosed me as lactose intolerant. She also ordered up a bunch of ultrasounds to look at my gall bladder and my stomach to make sure nothing else was going on. To be thorough, she scheduled a GI appointment for me at the end of this month.

The ultrasounds came back clean. I took myself off milk and milk products -- and I feel a lot better. And before eating anything that may contain dairy, I would pop a Lactaid pill before eating.

But I still can't eat pasta, or white bread or pizza. I even had a reaction to sushi the other night. I had maki, white rice, soy sauce and wasabe. I only had water to drink. Within a 1/2 - 1 hour my stomach was gurgling, extended, and I felt the gas coming on. I hate that bloated feeling.