Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I found some pkgs. of breading mix that the main ingreadient was matzo meal.....it didn't lis any wheat products. But I donno what matzo meal is or if it is safe to eat. Does anyone know what this stuff is?


Myself-Age 25....I have had symptoms since at least 1998 if not since infancy (was diagnosed with malnutrition as a small child)...Positive results with gluten free diet!

Hannah-Age 5.....Has symptoms....Inconclusive blood tests....Positive diet response to both gluten free and lactose free!

Grace-Age 1.....Born at 29 weeks due to me having celiac....Has reflux and a feeding tube.

Husband-Not Celiac......has found that he does feel better when not eating allot of gluten.....is gluten free at home.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I seem to recal reading that it's made with wheat. I'm sure Google can help though. It may be there are gluten-free kinds of matzo, but that would certainly be noted on the package.


A spherical meteorite 10 km in diameter traveling at 20 km/s has the kinetic energy equal to the calories in 550,000,000,000,000,000 Twinkies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's interesting, though I doubt the manufacturer is strictly sticking to such traditions. I Googled and found sites providing matzo recipes for passover, and easily found some with no reference to the kind of flour to be used. Seems to me matzo should be easy to make with something like buckwheat, rice flour, sorghum, millet, or a number of other gluten-free grains.


A spherical meteorite 10 km in diameter traveling at 20 km/s has the kinetic energy equal to the calories in 550,000,000,000,000,000 Twinkies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Good idea... I was thinking she was reading as an ingredient on a package.

Oh yeah. Good catch. It IS an ingredient - in a breading mix. But gluten-free breading doesn't need to use matzo, though I see the idea behind using it. I don't use breading on anything, but if I needed to I think I'd first try a gluten-free hot cereal. The "mighty tasty hot cereal" comes to mind, as does corn grits. Something like that might cook quickly enough depending on how it's used I guess. Honestly never tried any. Many posts on this board suggest throwing some gluten-free bread in a blender and grind it up for "instant" gluten-free bread crumbs.


A spherical meteorite 10 km in diameter traveling at 20 km/s has the kinetic energy equal to the calories in 550,000,000,000,000,000 Twinkies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm confused now. The website above says that matzo bread is made from water and wheat but it says that matzo meal is used in place of wheat for some religious reasons. I guess maybe I should call the manufactur.


Myself-Age 25....I have had symptoms since at least 1998 if not since infancy (was diagnosed with malnutrition as a small child)...Positive results with gluten free diet!

Hannah-Age 5.....Has symptoms....Inconclusive blood tests....Positive diet response to both gluten free and lactose free!

Grace-Age 1.....Born at 29 weeks due to me having celiac....Has reflux and a feeding tube.

Husband-Not Celiac......has found that he does feel better when not eating allot of gluten.....is gluten free at home.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm confused now. The website above says that matzo bread is made from water and wheat but it says that matzo meal is used in place of wheat for some religious reasons. I guess maybe I should call the manufactur.

It's written in a very confusing way. Read again, but see the bolded words:

Five grains are forbidden for use during Passover in any processed form but dry-roasting and as matzoh: wheat, barley, spelt, rye, and either oats (according to Rashi) or two-rowed barley (according to Rambam's interpretation of Mishnah Kilayim 1:1; Yerushalmi Challah 1:1). (Wheat and spelt are both in the genus Triticum and anything else in the genus is likewise forbidden.

What that means is that the grains are only forbidden if they have not been dry-roasted and made into matzoh first. It then goes on to explain that it can't be made into matzoh if the dough has sat around for more than 18 minutes, as that would make it start to rise even without added leavening.

So, regular commercial matzoh meal is off limits to us celiacs, as it is almost always made from wheat that has been dry-roasted and then made into matzoh. Matzoh is basically just crackers that have been made from water and wheat (no leavening).

Hope that helps clear things up!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks...I think I get it now.


Myself-Age 25....I have had symptoms since at least 1998 if not since infancy (was diagnosed with malnutrition as a small child)...Positive results with gluten free diet!

Hannah-Age 5.....Has symptoms....Inconclusive blood tests....Positive diet response to both gluten free and lactose free!

Grace-Age 1.....Born at 29 weeks due to me having celiac....Has reflux and a feeding tube.

Husband-Not Celiac......has found that he does feel better when not eating allot of gluten.....is gluten free at home.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi...matzo is unleavened bread that Jewish people eat during Passover because they cannot have bread that is leavened. Matzo is made with flour and water but does not have the same "rising power" as other breads, like white bread or italian bread. Its flat and cracker like. Matzo meal is just grinded up matzo crackers used to make matzo balls and other things during Passover. While matzo, especially matzo balls are delicious, IT IS NOT GLUTEN FREE.


marissa

.be the change you wish to see in the world.

gluten free since august 3, 2006

soy free since september 9, 2006

positive blood test august 2, 2006

positive biopsy august 10, 2006

diagnosed with hoshimoto's hypothyroidism in 4th grade

diagnosed with PCOS sometime in high school

"genetically" extremely high cholesterol and tricyclycerides

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you, Fiddle-Faddle for speaking to this. That is my understanding as well. Yes, it is wheat (usually) but has been certified Kosher and appropriate for use during Passover.

My search is for a Passover type "matzoh" cracker that can be made using non-gluten flours...

If anyone has a recipe, please let me know!


gluten-free since 2/10/08

EnteroLab results 4/18/08:

Antigliadin IgA 228 (Normal Range <10 Units)

Antitissue Transglutaminase IgA 191 Units (Normal Range <10 Units)

Anti-casein IgA antibody 127 Units (Normal Range <10 Units)

Guess I'm going CF now, too!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thank you, Fiddle-Faddle for speaking to this. That is my understanding as well. Yes, it is wheat (usually) but has been certified Kosher and appropriate for use during Passover.

My search is for a Passover type "matzoh" cracker that can be made using non-gluten flours...

If anyone has a recipe, please let me know!

http://glutenfreebay.blogspot.com/2007/03/...mock-matzo.html

Enjoy!


-Colleen

Dx 8/05 via bloodwork and biopsy (total villous atrophy)

13-year old son Dx 11/05 via bloodwork and biopsy

Daughters (16 and 5) have tested negative via bloodwork

A woman is like a tea bag - you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water. - Eleanor Roosevelt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't eat oats but....

http://www.glutenfreeoatmatzos.com/

About 20 years ago Rabbi Kestenbaum started producing these matzos,and in due couse Hashem helped him to breed completely gluten free oats in Scotland. These are used to produce the only gluten free matzos in the world. The machine matzos are packed in boxes weighing approximately 1lb each net and holding about 11 matzos. We also produce gluten free hand matzos which are very mehudar and they come in boxes containing 3 round matzos.

I don't eat gluten and neither do my cats

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites