Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Not the regular size ones, but the bite size one's do have gluten.


My name is forgettable, so I invite you to remember this tale." (RG)

Diagnosed with celiac disease, by biopsy, 10/05

T1 diabetic since 2/80

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It couldbe the sugar....because I have just gone striaght to veggies, fruit and lean meats...and avoiding any real sweets, except for the odd gluten free treat.....

Thats probably it....


Quod me nutrit, me destruit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What? The bite-sized ones have gluten???

Not that it matters anymore... I have a peanut intolerance as well so I can't eat Snickers. So yes, Snickers give me problems because of that.


Gluten-Free since September 15, 2005.

Peanut-Free since July 2006.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not positive....please check further, but I think miniature Snickers are ok, just not miniature Hersheys. Well, I'll go look now.

Later....

Yeah, everything I'm finding indicates that all sizes of Snickers are gluten free. It is Hershey's that uses flour or something on the lines of it's miniatures. Snickers is a Mars product. Just FYI I found their policy both interesting and comforting

from snickers.com I clicked allergen info and got here

http://us.mms.com/us/legal/allergen.html

I think to remove all uncertainty, you can at least trust their ingredient list...whatever it says.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Beware the bite sized Mars bars. I thought they were like the big ones and I did not read the package, I just ate one and I have broken out in DH on both sides of my mouth, the big C and feel gross.


Rusla

Asthma-1969

wheat/ dairy allergies, lactose/casein intolerance-1980

Multiple food, environmental allergies

allergic to all antibiotics except sulpha

Rheumitoid arthritis,Migraine headaches,TMJ- 1975

fibromyalgia-1995

egg allergy-1997

msg allergy,gall bladder surgery-1972

Skin Biopsy positive DH-Dec.1 2005, confirmed celiac disease

gluten-free totally since Nov. 28, 2005

Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism- 2005

Pernicious Anemia 1999 (still anemic on and off.)

Osteoporosis Aug. 2006

Creative people need maids.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest melannen

I've never had a reaction (eating one as I type this actually :D). I always go for the king size though so I don't know if there's a problem w/other sizes (I think the king size taste better, yeah I know it's weird :P:))

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The bigger bars of Mars and Snickers are fine, I have always been okay with them. I just called them about why the barley malt in the mni's and they said they are made on the same machines as all the mini bars. So, avoid the mini bars of Hershey (hershey mini's) they have told me their mini's are also made on machines that other bars are made on just like Effem (mars, snickers, etc.)


Rusla

Asthma-1969

wheat/ dairy allergies, lactose/casein intolerance-1980

Multiple food, environmental allergies

allergic to all antibiotics except sulpha

Rheumitoid arthritis,Migraine headaches,TMJ- 1975

fibromyalgia-1995

egg allergy-1997

msg allergy,gall bladder surgery-1972

Skin Biopsy positive DH-Dec.1 2005, confirmed celiac disease

gluten-free totally since Nov. 28, 2005

Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism- 2005

Pernicious Anemia 1999 (still anemic on and off.)

Osteoporosis Aug. 2006

Creative people need maids.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was probably either caffiene from the chocolate or the massive amounts of sugar.

At any rate, from what I understand, all sizes of "everyday" snickers are gluten-free. It's the holiday ones that can get tricky, I remember from easter that the mini eggs (that came in an egg carton type of package) have gluten, but not the flat eggs.


Alright, don't worry even if things end up a bit too heavy

We'll all float on, alright

Well we'll float on good news is on the way...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The bite size snickers' bag I have has no gluten ingredients in it!

I wonder if geographical region has anything to do with what formula is distributed?


Franceen

Diagnosed DH by Allergist via gluten-free Diet Success

Gluten-free since Dec 2005

Gluten-free works so why keep getting tests?

Neg skin biopsy & Neg bloodwork after gluten-free for 3 months

No Endoscopy - need to eat gluten for good test & won't do it

No other Allergies or major ailments!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought I would update what I found. I bought a regular size Milky Way bar from a vending machine, assuming it was safe. I was about ready to unwrap it, and decided I should double check that it was ok. On the label, jumping out at me were the words "barley malt".

Beware - I purchased this in the US (West Virginia) - no idea where it was produced.

I just checked their website - it is actually listed as "malted barley".

Also, "wheat flour" is listed........

I read their labeling policy - they will specify if a product contains any of the 8 main allergens - however, since barley is not one of the 8, I wonder if they will always list it?

I am getting nervous now about eating a Snickers :blink:


Tracy

- Dx by Derm with DH in Oct 2005 - both by bloodwork and skin biopsy.

- Dx with celiac disease in Nov 2005 by biopsy of small intestine.

- gluten-free since Oct 2005

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even after reading here that I could have them, AND reading the label I still felt horrible after eating a regular size one.

I think there's something with artifical Flavoring that I can't have, dunno what but I just avoid it now. Easier that way


Misdiagnosed with Duardinitis & Endometriosis

Diagnosed after 6 yrs & 4 Doc and every test known to man

Diagnosed October 2004

Anemic as a teen

Small Stature

Dental Issues

Constant Headaches

Joint Pain

Mood Swings

Lethargy

All those disappeared after eliminating Gluten

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I thought I would update what I found. I bought a regular size Milky Way bar from a vending machine, assuming it was safe. I was about ready to unwrap it, and decided I should double check that it was ok. On the label, jumping out at me were the words "barley malt".

Beware - I purchased this in the US (West Virginia) - no idea where it was produced.

I just checked their website - it is actually listed as "malted barley".

Also, "wheat flour" is listed........

I read their labeling policy - they will specify if a product contains any of the 8 main allergens - however, since barley is not one of the 8, I wonder if they will always list it?

I am getting nervous now about eating a Snickers :blink:

Milkyways are NOT safe. They have always been listed as not safe. The only milkyway that IS safe is the milkyway midnight or Dark chocolate one. Always always read labels!!

As for snickers.............they are fine with the exception of the poppables(which I'm not even sure they make anymore).

-Jessica :rolleyes:


Jessica

Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!

Kansas

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I realize now that they are not safe. There was a comment in this thread that they were, so I thought I would advise.

I always read the labels - else I wouldn't have noticed the malted barley.

I don't think I will eat Snickers any more either - or anything manufactured by Mars for that matter - after reading their labeling policy. It is good that they are concerned about consumers with allergies, but they do not specify they will disclose anything beyond the 8 main food allergens.


Tracy

- Dx by Derm with DH in Oct 2005 - both by bloodwork and skin biopsy.

- Dx with celiac disease in Nov 2005 by biopsy of small intestine.

- gluten-free since Oct 2005

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I received an email from the company, and they said if you have Gluten sensitivity its not adviseable to eat any the Snickers because of the high probability in the manufacturing and packaging process.

Everytime I eat one I get sick...and maybe thats the suagr and the fact I eat mainly fruits/vegetables...but....I have just said forget the darn candy. It no good anyway and certainly not worth it. Bleh.

I never in my life thought I would say that either.


Quod me nutrit, me destruit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I received an email from the company, and they said if you have Gluten sensitivity its not adviseable to eat any the Snickers because of the high probability in the manufacturing and packaging process.

Everytime I eat one I get sick...and maybe thats the suagr and the fact I eat mainly fruits/vegetables...but....I have just said forget the darn candy. It no good anyway and certainly not worth it. Bleh.

I never in my life thought I would say that either.

Would you mind posting the e-mail? Thanks!!

-Jessica :rolleyes:


Jessica

Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!

Kansas

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This doesn't make me feel to good either. Not with the "candy season" upon us. I was going to ask about Mounds/Almond Joys but I decided to call the 800 number. They tell me the carmel color is burnt sugar and the natural flavor is not gluten (wheat, oat, barley, rye,....). She asked me before she answered if I was Celiac. (They must get alot of calls.) She also said - "If a candy of Hershey Company is made on a shared machine, they indicate it on the package." I see on the package the allergy info states Mfg on same ewuipment that processed almonds. So do we trust it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So far, I have completely put my trust in Hershey's products. Not sure if that is smart, but that is the choice I have made for myselft.

But Mars is now off of my personal safe list......which i hate!


Tracy

- Dx by Derm with DH in Oct 2005 - both by bloodwork and skin biopsy.

- Dx with celiac disease in Nov 2005 by biopsy of small intestine.

- gluten-free since Oct 2005

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got EXTREMELY sick from a Snicker's Bar... I thought I was the only one! I figured it must be the soy lecithin or something because that little dairy almost never makes me sick, and they're supposed to be gluten-free. I really don't know what it was. I didn't think I was so allergic to soy that a tiny bit of soy lecithin would cause a reaction, as that doesn't happen when I use soy sauce on my sushi. I really don't know.


*Gluten free since 7/06

*Cutting down on soy and dairy since 9/06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I got EXTREMELY sick from a Snicker's Bar... I thought I was the only one! I figured it must be the soy lecithin or something .....

Ditto, except for me I thought it could be the soy lecithin or the dairy since I've had trouble with both. I gave them up for that reason. I really believed they were safe. Dunno.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do not eat anything that is even made in the same facility as wheat products. So for me the same machine is an even bigger no no. Snickers is totally off my list now as was my rude awakening with Mars, which made me sick.


Rusla

Asthma-1969

wheat/ dairy allergies, lactose/casein intolerance-1980

Multiple food, environmental allergies

allergic to all antibiotics except sulpha

Rheumitoid arthritis,Migraine headaches,TMJ- 1975

fibromyalgia-1995

egg allergy-1997

msg allergy,gall bladder surgery-1972

Skin Biopsy positive DH-Dec.1 2005, confirmed celiac disease

gluten-free totally since Nov. 28, 2005

Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism- 2005

Pernicious Anemia 1999 (still anemic on and off.)

Osteoporosis Aug. 2006

Creative people need maids.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites