Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
0
floridanative

What Is Grain Alcohol Usually?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I don't drink anything but corn or potato vodka but someone I know has been drinking a rock-gut vodka that says 'grain alcohol' on the bottle and it's from Albertson's who says they don't know what it's made of. Anyway, we were in the liquor store on Sat. and the guy there was showing me all the new vodkas made with grapes and even soy...very pricey to say the least. Anyway, he said that grain alcohol as it pertains to vodka is almost always made from rye. Anyone else ever heard this? The person drinking it has Celiac and has been on the gluten-free diet for over 7 months with much improvement but no weight loss. There seems to be a corelation between the grain vodka and being bloated so if it is made with rye, that makes sense now.


Dx'd with anemia - March 2005

Positive blood tests - Sept. 2005

Positive biopsy - Jan. 2006

Gluten free since 1-23-06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Whiskey is made from rye. Vodka is usually made from Wheat. I have wheat allergy in addition to celiac and I have a reaction to grain alcohols made from wheat.

The soy vodka's I haven't liked as much. The potato and corn ones are good, I haven't ponied up for the grape versions yet.

Elonwy


Positive Bloodwork 7/8/05

Inconclusive Biopsy 7/20/05

gluten-free since 7/23/05

Never felt better.

"So here's us, on the raggedy edge, come a day when there won't be room for naughty men like us to slip about at all. - Malcolm Reynolds"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's a really good question...I hope someone on here knows the answer to it.

I found a minibottle of grain alcohol just the other day. Of course, being liquor they dont' have to print anything on it except not to drink while pregnant or drink and drive. <_<

Of course, this bottle also has a warning about how flammable it is...190 proof would do it!

Courtney


Courtney - 25

Columbia, SC

Gluten-free since July 8, 2006

Casein-free since October 16, 2006

Went six weeks, and fell back into a deliciously painful world of cheese.

Casein-free (again and for serious this time) December 11, 2006

Stupid cheese addiction....2/07

Dx Hypothyroid in 1993

Dx Gluten & Casein Sensitive through Enterolab 10/06

Dx Adrenal *Exhaustion* 2/07

Originally from WI, I am still in denial over my newfound casein intolerance. I fear I will not be allowed back into the state if I can no longer eat cheese and drink milk. This could pose some trouble over holidays when I wish to visit my family. It also poses a problem involving the severe rage I feel when I have to throw away somebody's unfinished cheese sticks. That is so wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Vodkas can be made from:

1. Neutral Grains (can be wheat, corn, rye, combis of each, etc) (Absolut, Stoli, Ketel One, etc)

2. Potatoes (Chopin, Luksusowa, Glacier Bay, etc)

3. Corn (Smirnoff)

4. Grapes (Ciroc)

5. Rye (Belvedere)

6. Sweet Potatoes

7. Other veggies (LOL)

It all depends on your senstivity. I can drink the grain vodkas without any symptoms. However, I usuallyu drink Smirnoff as it is cheap and just as good (and made from corn)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Distillation does not allow gluten to pass into the final process (though anything can be added back if the manufacturer so chooses), but grain-alcohol can be from any grain. Vodkas are usually wheat (these days, in the US) but are plenty often rye as well, and also plenty often potato.

Ciroq, the grape vodka, is, by the way, a FABULOUS vodka. The only one I'll drink. (Though I don't drink any more due to my migraine medication...)


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't forget my new fave Tito's Vodka (corn) There's some more but everything tasted like moonshine! I can't touch Smirnoff, gives me insta-headache


Misdiagnosed with Duardinitis & Endometriosis

Diagnosed after 6 yrs & 4 Doc and every test known to man

Diagnosed October 2004

Anemic as a teen

Small Stature

Dental Issues

Constant Headaches

Joint Pain

Mood Swings

Lethargy

All those disappeared after eliminating Gluten

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Vodka types:

can someone advise what "Blue Goose" is from?

and what brand is a sweet potato base?

Why is it that the wheat and rye vodkas do not take on a golden hue like whiskey does?


Husband has Celiac Disease and

Husband misdiagnosed for 27 yrs -

The misdiagnosis was: IBS or colitis

Mis-diagnosed from 1977 to 2003 by various gastros including one of the largest,

most prestigious medical groups in northern NJ which constantly advertises themselves as

being the "best." This GI told him it was "all in his head."

Serious Depressive state ensued

Finally Diagnosed with celiac disease in 2003

Other food sensitivities: almost all fruits, vegetables, spices, eggs, nuts, yeast, fried foods, roughage, soy.

Needs to gain back at least 25 lbs. of the 40 lbs pounds he lost - lost a great amout of body fat and muscle

Developed neuropathy in 2005

Now has lymphadema 2006It is my opinion that his subsequent disorders could have been avoided had he been diagnosed sooner by any of the dozen or so doctors he saw between 1977 to 2003

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks tarnalberry for telling us about Ciroq vodka. I only saw it recently when getting my fave vodka 'Iceberg' (corn) but now I'm curious to try Ciroq as a special treat!


Dx'd with anemia - March 2005

Positive blood tests - Sept. 2005

Positive biopsy - Jan. 2006

Gluten free since 1-23-06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Vodka types:

can someone advise what "Blue Goose" is from?

and what brand is a sweet potato base?

Why is it that the wheat and rye vodkas do not take on a golden hue like whiskey does?

Debmidge,

Are you referring to "Grey Goose" ?? If so, it is a grain based vodka (wheat, etc)

The only sweet potato vodkas I have seen are Korean based or in Korean restaurants...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes, sorry I mean Grey Goose.

I went on their website and yes, they state wheat based.

I always mix this up with Blue Goose which is particular to my work

"The Honorable Order of the Blue Goose, International is a fraternal organization of men and women who work in the property and casualty insurance industry. As Ganders, we are members of Ponds located throughout the United States and Canada. There is fellowship, education, charity, and leadership in our organization.

We invite you to learn more through our website. You will find character, charity, and fellowship in abundance among a welcoming group of friends. A place has been saved for you. Please join us."


Husband has Celiac Disease and

Husband misdiagnosed for 27 yrs -

The misdiagnosis was: IBS or colitis

Mis-diagnosed from 1977 to 2003 by various gastros including one of the largest,

most prestigious medical groups in northern NJ which constantly advertises themselves as

being the "best." This GI told him it was "all in his head."

Serious Depressive state ensued

Finally Diagnosed with celiac disease in 2003

Other food sensitivities: almost all fruits, vegetables, spices, eggs, nuts, yeast, fried foods, roughage, soy.

Needs to gain back at least 25 lbs. of the 40 lbs pounds he lost - lost a great amout of body fat and muscle

Developed neuropathy in 2005

Now has lymphadema 2006It is my opinion that his subsequent disorders could have been avoided had he been diagnosed sooner by any of the dozen or so doctors he saw between 1977 to 2003

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ANYONE KNOW WHAT RUM IS MADE FROM?


Gluten Free...negative blood results...absolutely positive diet results.

Dairy Free...absolutely positive diet results.

Egg Free...there goes another one...absolutely positive diet results.

Allergic to Codeine.

"Life is like a box of chocolates...you never know which ones may have gluten in them:)"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rum is made from sugar cane, and tequila from cactus (agave, if it's genuine)

Elonwy: I never thought about vodka and a wheat allergy. Crud.


Alright, don't worry even if things end up a bit too heavy

We'll all float on, alright

Well we'll float on good news is on the way...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am so confused!! I thought I read a while back that all vodka was safe. My husband traded his Harpoon IPA for Vodka and Cranberry.

We recently bought Chopin potato vodka, a little pricey, but he likes it. I thought it might be gentler on his gut. Should I be steering him away from certain vodkas?


Cali

Here to support and cook for:

Jared (Husband with Celiac.) diagnosed and gluten free since Nov.2005

Abby ( 6 yrs old) diagnosed with celiac and gluten free since Nov.2005

Griffin (4 yrs old) not diagnosed but gluten free since Nov. 2005

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, there's a whole debate about whether distilled grain alcohol is safe. The Canadian celiac assn says yes, but several people on this website react.

I appreciate the list of different types of vodkas---I've had trouble with alcohol. I don't know whether it is the alcohol itself or the ingredients . . . . the last time I had one drink (vodka + orange juice), I felt kind of ill the whole night and the next morning couldn't hold any food down at all.

I would like to look into making my own vanilla flavouring----I'm not sure about potato vodka as I'm allergic to potatoes (and to corn and to soy). But I could maybe have vodka distilled from grapes . .. or sweet potatoes. Is it fairly rare to find sweet potato vodka? What brands are available?


positive tTG and antigliadin blood tests for celiac (summer 2006)

positive dietary response

environmental and food allergies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The distillation process does prevent the gluten protein from passing through the filtration process.  However for people who are gluten intolerant like I am, the cross contamination that occurs prior to distillation is still present after distillation.  Therefore while the protein molecule isn't present, the distilled liquid is cross contaminated by containing the gluten protein molecule prior to the distillation process.  I get very ill from any distilled alcohol that contained gluten prior to be being distilled.  For those of you that are gluten intolerant, please be exceptionally careful.

Extracts are another thing to stay away from for the same reason.  We have to make our own.  It's a long process but worth not getting sick.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0