This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiacs Disease And Schools

SoulKitten

SoulKitten Newbie

Hello Everyone!

My name is Shy, and I am currently a 3rd Year law student. I am specializing in Children's and Education Law, with a focus on Special Education Law.

I am preparing to write a paper on Celiacs Disease and special education. This topic is near and dear to my heart because I have Celiacs.

My first thesis is that children with Celiacs could greatly benefit from special education or Section 504 protections (Section 504 is a civil rights statute that protects kids with disabilities - for example, making it federal law that a school must have handicapped access or a ramp for a child in a wheel chair).

If a child with Celiacs is classified under special education or 504, accomdations can be made for the child missing a lot of school, depression or to establish procedures for lunch time or "pizza parties" (How horrible is it for a Celiac's child to deal with the never ending PIZZA PARTIES?!).

This is where you come in! I'd love to interview parents of Celiac children and get your opinion on what challenges your child faces at school (if any), what changes would be beneficial, any experiences you have had with your school district that relates to Celiacs and special education (or accomodations) and any other story you'd like to tell.

I can be contacted via email at celiacpaper@yahoo.com

Once you contact me, I can send you specific questions or we can just chat and see what happens.