Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jim mc

Hot Dog Buns

I'm new to all of this and I miss the wheat breads

Does any one have any ideas on making a good hot dog bun

also I am finding that yeast is not handled well in a lot of the easy to find recepies (put yeast in milk and let foam for 5 min) doesn't work well... instead use water and a little flour and a touch of sugar and in 5 min you have a mini songe that really takes of and the bread is twice as high when baked (add powdered milk in the dry stuff)

Another thing that works for me is instead of oil I use shortening cut into the dry ingredients (nicer taste)... oil...yuk.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Does any one have any ideas on making a good hot dog bun

also I am finding that yeast is not handled well in a lot of the easy to find recepies (put yeast in milk and let foam for 5 min) doesn't work well... instead use water and a little flour and a touch of sugar and in 5 min you have a mini songe that really takes of and the bread is twice as high when baked (add powdered milk in the dry stuff)

Another thing that works for me is instead of oil I use shortening cut into the dry ingredients (nicer taste)... oil...yuk.

Hi,