This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Hot Dog Buns

jim mc

jim mc Newbie

I'm new to all of this and I miss the wheat breads

Does any one have any ideas on making a good hot dog bun

also I am finding that yeast is not handled well in a lot of the easy to find recepies (put yeast in milk and let foam for 5 min) doesn't work well... instead use water and a little flour and a touch of sugar and in 5 min you have a mini songe that really takes of and the bread is twice as high when baked (add powdered milk in the dry stuff)

Another thing that works for me is instead of oil I use shortening cut into the dry ingredients (nicer taste)... oil...yuk.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Pilgrim South Rookie

Does any one have any ideas on making a good hot dog bun

also I am finding that yeast is not handled well in a lot of the easy to find recepies (put yeast in milk and let foam for 5 min) doesn't work well... instead use water and a little flour and a touch of sugar and in 5 min you have a mini songe that really takes of and the bread is twice as high when baked (add powdered milk in the dry stuff)

Another thing that works for me is instead of oil I use shortening cut into the dry ingredients (nicer taste)... oil...yuk.

Hi,