Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

daffadilly

Chocolate Cupcakes

here is my chocolate cupcake recipe - it could be a cake but I always made cupcakes for the grandkids

Chocolate Cupakes

1 Cup of Brown Sugar (I put a scant cup of brown sugar then added some white sugar to fill the cup)

1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter (1 stick)

2 Eggs

2 Teaspoons Vanilla

1/2 Cup Buttermilk

1/2 Cup PLUS two Tablespoons Milk

Dry ingredients:

1/2 Cup Soy Flour

1/2 Cup Potato Starch

1/2 Cup Tapioca Flour

1/2 Cup Cocoa Powder

1 1/4 Teaspoons Baking Soda

3/4 Teaspoon Salt

1 Scant Teaspoon Xanthan Gum (I did not fill the spoon completely)

Place all dry ingredients in a small bowl & stir to mix flours.

Cream butter and sugar using a mixer, add eggs & vanilla, mix, add milks & flours alternately beginning & ending with the flour. I am an old time baker & this was the rule I learned for cakes before there were cake mixes!!!! What I do is pour some flour in, mix, then half the milk, mix, then a little more flour, mix, then the rest of the milk, mix, then the rest of the flour, & mix. The batter looks a little thick -

Put 12 cup cake liners in muffin tins - fill each one - they will be full. bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Done - when a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. These will rise & be rounded on top, like a muffin. If you do not want the large cupcakes you could make extra cupcakes. Or use the tiny little cupcake liners.

I think you could also make a cake out of this. I loved these & could not tell the difference from regular cupcakes!! I will be making some for a celiac disease friend that does not cook!!!

We iced ours with powdered sugar icing. & put sprinkles on for the kids.