This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Can You Trust The gluten-free Label?

emi-220

emi-220 Rookie

I was just diagnosed with celiac disease last week so I'm still learning about and trying to adjust to the gluten- free diet. I went to the store and saw that products say that they are gluten free right on the label and I was just wondering can trust all of these products just from that claim? I read that the US doesn't regulate the labeling of gluten free foods. I assume these companies know what they put in their food and what they don't so maybe this is a stupid question but I just wanted to be sure.

Also, if there's nothing on the label that says gluten free, but none of the ingredients are gluten in any form (even the "hidden"/questionable ones) is it safe to say that it's gluten free? or should you always call the manufacturer to be sure? :unsure:

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Lisa Mentor

If, in the US, the product says that it is gluten fee (roll it over and verify for yourself), it should be gluten free.

If it says "Wheat Free", it will not be required to list barley, rye, malt and oats for some.(other gluten ingredients)

Gluten free labels mean that it should be safe to consume.

In other words:

Gluten free - great

Wheat Free- check for other gluten additives.

Hope this helps

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

Very tricky,