Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

relepvd

Mystery Med Ingredients?! Grr...

Hello, folks. Newbie here. I'm guessing this has appeared b4, but (as opposed to my usual practice elsewhere) I'm gonna throw it out again b4 I blow a gasket. I'm still relatively new at the ins 'N' outs of this whole gluten-free thing. Wheat & rice cause, (among other things) hideous arthritis-like pain, for which has been prescribed painkillers. It belatedly occurred to me to inquire about wheat prods in the drug. Ha.

I just spoke with a cuss service rep at a major pharmaceuticals company; he assured me there's no way at all for them to say whether anything they produce is gluten-free, b/c they get all these ingredients from all over the place and really have no way of knowing what any of them are.

WHAT THE FRANKENFURTER?!?! :blink::angry:

The FDA is so toothless that the pharm companies can just toss in any old ingredient some random supplier happens to send them, they don't know what it is, don't hafta care?!

So what was all that hoo-ha about "we can't let people buy meds from Canada, heaven only knows what they might contain"?! We don't even know what stuff contains that's made in the good ole US of A!

Who do I write? Where do I scream? Is there any point, or do the pharm lobbyists have de guvmint so tied up I'm wasting my time? There are some medications that I HAVE to take daily; do I just cross my fingers (unless wheat in a med has made them immobile)? It is beyond outrageous!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

relepvd,

Welcome to the board! We are happy to have you here!