This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How Do People Cope With The Frustration Of Celiac Disease?

dagreen

dagreen Newbie

I've never done this before. Posted online. However, I wanted to get feedback. I'm 21 and it was confirmed that I had celiac disease about 7 months ago. I'm on a completely gluten free diet. I know that I feel better on this diet, and I used to feel wretched on gluten before I found out I was celiac, but I still feel very frustrated with the disease. Not only do I not eat wheat, barley, rye and oats, I have many digestive problems with other foods, so I am in the process of trying to figure out what's wrong. I don't eat vanilla ice cream, ketchup, corn, rice, and generally I avoid lots of other foods that are supposed to be gluten free, because they make me feel sick. I also phone every company of every product I eat and generally do not eat anything that has gluten on the line it is being produced on.

My question is, how do people deal with celiac disease? I try to not feel sorry for myself when I'm out with friends who can eat what they want or go out with family, that can eat everything, but I do. I am really grateful that I found out I have celiac disease, however, I still catch myself feeling sorry for myself, and I would like to be able to appreciate what I have without pitying myself. I wish I was a better person that was just able to accept it without the frustration, and I really do try to, but I am so frustrated. I realize others are going through the same thing, so I would like people's thoughts on how to cope with this. Thanks in advance, I would appreciate any sort of advice.