This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Naturopathic Doctor

mtdawber

mtdawber Apprentice

I am considering going to a Naturopath to help me figure out my new diet, generally make sure I'm doing the right things and get suggestions for better living, etc. Has anyone gone to a Naturpath? Did it help? Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated! B)

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

DebS Newbie

Hi Tanya,

I'm new to all of this as well...was just diagnosed last month by a Naturopathic Dr. This was after going to several regular MD's over the years with my gastro complaints only to be diagnosed with IBS and GERD (btw, my GERD is completely GONE since going gluten-free, something I consider to be nothing short of a miracle). Anyway, I'm so glad I went to the Naturopath as I would have never thought that gluten was my problem and clearly my family doctor hadn't ever thought to test me for it. I do plan, however, to contact my regular MD and get a referral from her for a registered dietician. I'm not sure how well versed a Naturopathic Dr. would be in the gluten-free diet. A dietician can help you with meal plans ect. based on what kinds of foods you like to eat and your lifestyle. I don't think a Naturopath would be able to do these things for you. Sorry this got long but I'm just still so amazed at the change in my health since going gluten-free and the fact that none of the dr's I went to in the past had ever thought to test me for gluten intolerance.

Deb

tiredofdoctors Enthusiast