Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

pinktulip

Jekyll Island Georgia

My dad and I are traveling to Jekyll Island next week, I'm going for convention, he's going just to go. The convention is providing several meals for us and I indicated gluten free, but this is my first time traveling since going gluten free and am worried. Also we're on an island in a hotel and I'm wondering about the resturant options for the rest of the meals.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Can you contact the hotel directly about the meal situation? I would try to do that first, and plan to bring some snacks that could replace a meal if you need to. Also, you may need to contact whoever is in charge of the food at the conference as soon as you get there to make sure they will be providing you with gluten free meals, that way you will have a better idea whether they know what gluten free means. Don't wait until meal time and then try to get them to bring you something gluten free while they are busy serving everyone else.

Here is a link to the other restaurants on the island: http://www.jekyllisland.com/dining/index.asp

You could probably contact them ahead of time and discuss if you would be able to eat there safely. Mostly it is steak & seafood places, which means you will probably find quite a few items on the menu that would be gluten free, but you need to make sure there won't be much contamination from the kitchen.