Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Aizlynn

Cross Contamination

Hi again. I am new to all of this and may be posting many items as I have soooo many questions on being Gluten Free. I thought I was doing all the right things by reading labels, but that does not see to do the trick. I read on a few threads about cross contamination (cc) about people throwing out dishes, kitchen wares, shampoo etc. I am confused if this is just for those with serious sensitivites or is this just playing on the safe side? Can you just steralize your kitchen items with hot water? Is my shampoo really messing with my stomach? If I touch bread when I make my daughter a PB&J sandwhich will I get glutened?? When I am in the workplace or a friends house and they eat gluten will I "catch" the gluten by being in their kitchen? I know this sounds weird, any maybe naive, but I am trying to get all the data I can. I have gotten to the point that I almost fear eating food or being in a grocery store! Also, when I read labels that do not list any gluten derivitives, how do I know they were not made in a facility with gluten. For example, I shop at trader joes and purchase their brands. I have been eating the Quaker Oats rice cakes, they did not list gluten ( I thought rice was safe) but the posts I have read give me further confusion. Just when I thought I was getting the hang of things!

Also, what about soy? Is soy a gluten item or just another hi alergy item? Soy in some sort seems to be in every darn thing, from soy lechtin, soy bean oil etc. I know soy sauce is bad, so I am glad I found a gluten free soysauce that tastes yummy. any advice? thank you all for your patience.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):