Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

chgomom

Response From Namaste Foods On Xanthan

Recommended Posts

The package I bought a few weeks ago said right on them that they were gluten-free and I didn't see anything about wheat. Did the company tell you they get their xanthan gum from wheat? I think that'd be some sort of law violation if they said one thing on a package but used another in the actual food. I didn't have a problem with the brownies I made.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Scroll back in the post.....their reply to me was yes...but its certified safe.

That doesn't cut it for me since I an super sensitive. Anyone with any food issue they are super sensitive on

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is their reply to me posted again:

--------------------------------------------

Dear Erin,

Thank you for writing. As we sell thousands of mixes monthly, I have not heard of this occurring before.

I went to www.allergygrocery.com, and read what you did, but further down under Allergen Notes (it was a blue section I think) it says....

*Namaste xanthan is derived from wheat or soy but certified testing proves negative for presence of any residual wheat or soy protein.

This is not our site, and we are not able to edit or amend the content.

Our xanthan gum is actually produced from a variety of carbohydrate sources, but by the time it is processed, refined, etc. ours is tested and certified to be free of wheat, gluten, corn, and soy. We have statements from our manufacturer on file.

I would love to send you another bag of brownies or another product to try, but if not I understand.

Namaste~

Robyn

----------------------------------

Here is the link to allergy grocer, whch they agreed with above, but say its really safe.

http://www.allergygrocery.com/Merchant2/me...roduct_Count=17

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it tests gluten-free then I would have to think it goes through a process that the protein can't pass through- like with vinegar.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are lots of ways to chemically process out various compounds - including gluten, and if they are testing, I'm inclined to believe them. (Then again, I'm no conspiracy theorist.) They may not put the information on there just for this reason - we don't live in a country full of chemists who know all the ways to process out the media used for bacterial growth (which are unlikely to contain much in the way of protein anyway). ;)

At the same time, regardless of the reason, if you've found that this item makes you sick, I'm all for avoiding it. And perhaps your inquiry will encourage them to find another source of xanthan gum.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not a conspiracy theorist either, but if an ingredient regardless of processing comes from an allergic source they should list it and put the disclaimer so their consumers can decide for themselves.

I see plenty of products, for example Wild Oats Grocery store has these rice chips that are "gluten free" but one of their sources is from wheat but processed in the same way. And they say rfining or what ever the process is has brought it down to however many parts per million.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just on a side note, I live with a microbiologist who works for a major pharmaceutical company.

He said its true, there are ways to "whittle the content down through processing" but you never totally eliminate it. He said but you bring it down to so many parts per million, what ever the threshold is that would be gluten containing, vs gluten free, he said such as 1 part per million.

So I guess it depends on the person, but the average person would not be affected.

They still should list it, imhop

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think I'd ask them why they don't simply use guar gum. That way they can be certain of the safety, and the customers can be equally secure about eating their products.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I get sick from eating this Browny Mix too. I have tried it a couple of times and I feel nasty from it. Diarrea, nasuea. It was a mystery to me, now I know I am not alone.

So does all Xanthan Gum come from either Wheat, Soy or Corn?

That I am not sure of, I think they do. But as they say its processed filted down to so many parts per million that it becomes "corn, soy wheat free" Now when you do a google of Xanthan gum, wheat or what have you nothing really comes up. So I think you would have to go to individual products ask them who their xantham supplier is and find out that way.

For now I am avoiding it...and if there is something I really want to try that has it I will call the manufacturer first.

:((

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
That I am not sure of, I think they do. But as they say its processed filted down to so many parts per million that it becomes "corn, soy wheat free" Now when you do a google of Xanthan gum, wheat or what have you nothing really comes up. So I think you would have to go to individual products ask them who their xantham supplier is and find out that way.

For now I am avoiding it...and if there is something I really want to try that has it I will call the manufacturer first.

:((

Ack! Sure isn't making things any easier.

Yes, I did a search on it and it didn't make me any wizer. I searched Guar Gum a while back and that at least said it is a Legume.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ack! Sure isn't making things any easier.

Yes, I did a search on it and it didn't make me any wizer. I searched Guar Gum a while back and that at least said it is a Legume.

Guar is a legume??? I was going to switch to it, but I'm intolerant to legumes, so it's out. Thanks for posting that!

This probably has nothing to do with the subject at hand, but I got this response from Bob's Red Mill about their xanthan gum--this is how they describe it--

Hello Patti,

Thank you for your email. The xanthan gum is manufactured in a gluten

free facility. The micro organism are fed on a combination of soy and

corn, do you have an allergy to them? There is a small chance of the

soy and corn products being in the harvested outer layer that makes

xanthan gum. I hope this helps. Have you considered guar gum ? I

hope

this helps you.

Happy Holidays,

Janelle

Customer Service

Bob's Red Mill

~~~~~~~~

This is all so confusing :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guar is a legume??? I was going to switch to it, but I'm intolerant to legumes, so it's out. Thanks for posting that!

This probably has nothing to do with the subject at hand, but I got this response from Bob's Red Mill about their xanthan gum--this is how they describe it--

Hello Patti,

Thank you for your email. The xanthan gum is manufactured in a gluten

free facility. The micro organism are fed on a combination of soy and

corn, do you have an allergy to them? There is a small chance of the

soy and corn products being in the harvested outer layer that makes

xanthan gum. I hope this helps. Have you considered guar gum ? I

hope

this helps you.

Happy Holidays,

Janelle

Customer Service

Bob's Red Mill

~~~~~~~~

This is all so confusing :blink:

Yes, look here at this link:

Guar Bean

Guar Gum is made from the Guar Bean.

Making things complicated. It doesn't seem like I always have problames with Xanthan gum. Not that I eat a lot of it at all.

I have also seen products with Carob bean/locust bean gum, which also belongs to the Legume family.

The Rice Milk I have been drinking had that. I thought it was Guar Gum but it wasn't, but they are both in the Legume family. :(

We have the same genes (as you know ;) ) . So are you intolerant to Gluten, Casein and Legumes like me? Interesting if it would be the same.. I am into the gene stuff right now. I'll get over it. ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, look here at this link:

Guar Bean

Guar Gum is made from the Guar Bean.

Making things complicated. It doesn't seem like I always have problames with Xanthan gum. Not that I eat a lot of it at all.

I have also seen products with Carob bean/locust bean gum, which also belongs to the Legume family.

The Rice Milk I have been drinking had that. I thought it was Guar Gum but it wasn't, but they are both in the Legume family. :(

We have the same genes (as you know ;) ) . So are you intolerant to Gluten, Casein and Legumes like me? Interesting if it would be the same.. I am into the gene stuff right now. I'll get over it. ;)

Jeesh--is everything a legume??? :angry: I feel so much better since I cut them out--I don't want to eat any by accident.

Yes, my intolerances are: gluten, dairy, soy, coconut, tapioca, legumes--basically all plant proteins. I do best with the Paleo-type diet--meats, fruit, veggies, olive oil and nuts (almonds, walnuts).

As far as the xanthan, I had problems with the Bob's--that why I wrote to them. I do not have a problem with whatever type The Gluten Free Pantry uses. That is the only mix I can tolerate--and only those without tapioca.

The whole gene thing is interesting. I was sort of obsessed with it, too after I did the gene test. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jeesh--is everything a legume??? :angry: I feel so much better since I cut them out--I don't want to eat any by accident.

Yes, my intolerances are: gluten, dairy, soy, coconut, tapioca, legumes--basically all plant proteins. I do best with the Paleo-type diet--meats, fruit, veggies, olive oil and nuts (almonds, walnuts).

As far as the xanthan, I had problems with the Bob's--that why I wrote to them. I do not have a problem with whatever type The Gluten Free Pantry uses. That is the only mix I can tolerate--and only those without tapioca.

The whole gene thing is interesting. I was sort of obsessed with it, too after I did the gene test. :D

Yes, cutting out the Legumes made a big difference for me too. I pretty much eat what you eat except I am allergic to nuts, almonds, pears, apples, peaches, strawberries and cherries. Which is a big problem for me now. I never really thought of it that much before I realized I had Celiac/gluten intolerance. Strange thing I seem to do really bad on Avocado, weird to me. Stomach ache. Yeah and the citrus stuff is too strong for now.

I haven't noticed having problems with coconut..Haven't had it much at all though and I haven't tried Tapioca really either yet. I guess I'll try it and see what happens.

But I eat mostly fish, chicken, fruits and veggies. The ones I can have.

Yes, it is pretty interesting.

I'll have to look into The Gluten Free Pantry. I haven't tried any of their stuff yet i think. I am in general paranoid with trying new stuff these days. Too tired of being sick. I'll have time to try later. :P

My favorite brand of stuff is Enjoy Life. They do use some fruits I can't have, but I do well on the stuff I eat.

Okay, a bit off subject here. Sorry.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that any processed food would contain some parts per million of gluten just because of facilities and such but could/would still would test as gluten free- just as this xanthan gum. At least Namaste uses a glute-free facility and even with their use of this xanatham gum. I would think they might have a lower parts per million than other brands just because of that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My response back to Namaste just now, and then thier reply to me for more information:

It's up to you guys to make your own informed decision, but I know now why I got sick.

Thanks to Namaste for even responding.

----------------------

________________

Yes, please mail me a copy of that. I would appreciate that.

Absolutely, if a company has something, that comes from an allergen source if is processed down to no detectable, such as one part per million they list it. Case in point, one of your vendors Wild Oats Supermarket. They produce "Gluten Free Products" when one of their sources comes from wheat, and it has been processed down to "undetectable" they put a star by the gluten free, and list that disclaimer.

If you look at various celiac message boards, you'll see the mix has made a lot of people sick, but they thought it was something else. Now, I'm not so sure. Especially for those super sensitive. You should put a disclaimer, with the information our products have been certified though....etc etc. Its only right and responsible.

Thanks, and I look forward to your mailing.

Erin Vlack

-----Original Message-----

From: admin@namastefoods.com [mailto:admin@namastefoods.com]

Sent: Thursday, January 18, 2007 6:35 PM

To: Erin Vlack

Subject: RE: BROWNIE MIX

Erin,

Instead of a statement on file I have a copy of the Certificate of Analysis from and independent lab that tests our ingredients. Would you like it emailed, faxed or snail mailed to you. When the owner had the products tested they tested for all protiens, that included corn, wheat, and soy. We did a complete protein analysis, not just checking for an individual protein.

I am sorry but as a rule, due to proprietary infringement we do not give out the name of our product sources. I think you will find this a customary policy when it comes to product manufacturing. We would however like to assure you that our xanthan gum is certified free of all wheat, soy and corn, so let me know how you want to recieve a copy of the analysis from an independent lab that tested our ingredients.

I do understand your concern and hope that you understand our position on this matter. If you have further concerns that I have not addressed please feel free to contact me by phone. Our goal is to make the best tasting allergen free foods on the market and along with that continued customer satisfaction.

I dont think I have ever seen a bag where a company has listed their sources on the package. Let me know what other info we can provide for you.

Namaste~

Robyn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmmm...I've also reacted after eating Namaste brownies but couldn't figure out what had gotten me. And I reacted to some cookies I made last weekend...could it have been the Bob's Red Mill xanthan gum? <_<

I so hope this is not the problem, but if so, does anyone know of a gluten-free, soy-free source of xanthan gum??? I was planning on doing some baking this weekend. :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Still wondering.... How bad are the baked goods when you just leave these questionable things like xanthan or guar gums out? If they aren't absolutely necessary, the solution is to just go back to baking simply. Things might not be quite as springy and hold together quite as well, but it would sure be better than putting up with a 'reaction' I would think. Will gelatin or a flax seed mixture or even eggs, for people who can have them, solve some of those crumbling problems I wonder?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...