Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

emcmaster

I Think My Job Is Constantly Glutening Me

I work as a mortgage originator, which means I can work from home if I want to. Starting in November, I have been babysitting for my friend's baby during the day and older daughter before/after school. I'm there from about 8am to 5pm. Their house is a nightmare when it comes to gluten. I have made a policy of not eating things that require me to touch it with my hands while I'm there. I also wash my hands about every other minute and use only paper towels... but I have started getting sick about once a week since then. I've been gluten-free for 9 months now and am pretty positive that I'm not getting gluten or cc at home. How realistic is this? Am I just being paranoid? How do those of you with non gluten-free households do it? (My husband eats gluten at home, but he has his own counter, own utensils, etc. and is very careful. I know it's not coming from him.)

ELIZABETH

gluten-free (04.17.2006)

corn-free (03.27.2007)

xanthan gum-free

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Nice of you to do that for your friend but is it worth your health? Yes, you are more than likely getting glutened there. I get glutened at work even though I am very careful, cleaning things with gloves etc. Her house is full of gluten. I would say tell her she needs to find someone else to look after her kids because it is ruining your health.

She had them so, she needs to find suitable care for them and you need to take charge of your health and quit doing this even tho you probably want to for your friend. If she doesn't find someone else or puts up a battle then she isn't mush of a friend.

Rusla

Asthma-1969

wheat/ dairy allergies, lactose/casein intolerance-1980

Multiple food, environmental allergies

allergic to all antibiotics except sulpha