Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

rtilil

Wine, Lectins And Salicylates

Recommended Posts

what are lectins and salicylates, where are they found, what do i need to know about them. and any other pertinent information. i am newly diagnosed celiac and feel much better already since having eliminated all gluten from my diet.

thanks,

reva.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


i'm new to celiac and was reading on the site about drinking wine. is wine good for celiacs? do some wines have gluten? what about grape juices?

also, what should i know about lectins and salicylates. i've asked about this before in the reply portion of the site, but, i think now i figured out how to post properly.

thanks,

reva.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Reva,

You don't really need to know anything about Lectins or Salicylates unless you have a sensitivity to them or are allergic to them. I don't think that they are related to Celiac at all. A few people on this site are sensitive/allergic to them, my son Jacob is allergic to aspirin, and since that is derived from salicylates we have to watch his salicylate intake. Salicylates are a natural occuring component in most foods and each food has a different level. So the foods that are high in salicylates we have to limit or he could get a reaction. There are lists available on line that will tell you what foods are high, moderate or low in salicylates.

I don't know much at all about Lectins. Ursa Major (Ursula) can't have either so she would be able to tell you more about them both.

As for the wine question, I haven't found any wines that have gluten, although some wine-type beverages do contain gluten and you should read the labels. I have a glass of wine only a couple times a year, and usually it is a nice red wine. Wine is usually safe for celiacs, but not all hard liquor is. Sorry I can't be more help. I never was much of a drinker even before I knew about Celiac Disease.


~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites