Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Candy

Allergic To Gluten-free Too?

Recommended Posts

Rice and oats are gluten-free but give me gut pains .Why? They also give me head allergy symptoms-puffy itchy eyes,sneezing,runny nose -it's like summer allergies all year round. It keeps me miserable for a few days :blink: ,but it's the only grains I can eat. This site say there are certain types of wheat that don't irritate Celiacs, ancient wheats called diploid Einkorn and tetraploid pasta wheat,which I read is just plain old pasta durum wheat that noodles are made of.....but,that was the first wheat that started to get me illing, was pasta durum wheat,so this ain't adding up,that it's edible to celiacs . If I wasn't tested for celiac I wouldn't know what to believe,but I know I have the main Kinds of Celiac HLA 2/8. But all the grains bother me including rice and oats,I wish there was a grain I could eat. Even though bread wheat is bad for us I feel more robust over all when I eat some ,but not too much.The leader of this site Scott,says the severity of celiac depends on how many copies of the Celiac gene you get;if I didn't get too many copies maybe I benefit from a small amount of bread. There was a celiac pill -you take it and you can eat bread I 'd like to see if I can get a prescription for that-I want a slice of pizza.


I have DNA ancestry in NW.EUROPE,where CELIAC'S known to be common.

DEC. '05 TESTED POSITIVE for the Celiac GENES HLA-DQ2 , and DQ3 SUBTYPE DQ8

Celiac Negative Endoscopy-Aug.'08 - Diagnosed with Hernia and GERD(Gastric Esophageal Reflux Disease),and prescribed Acid Reducing Medication. I hadn't eaten WHEAT for a year prior to the Endoscopy-maybe that's why result was Negative. I need TTG test to determine Active Celiac Status/

Disgnosed with Sjogren's 9/19/2008- Internist referred me to Eye Doctor and Rheumatologist.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


No kind of wheat is safe for a person with celiac. There are some lower gluten wheats and some people who are allergic to wheat can handle those, but people with celiac should not eat it.

You also should not eat oats unless you're buying one of the brands that is grown specifically to be free of wheat cross contamination. Most regular oats are contaminated.

While there is research into a pill going on, there is no approved medication that allows people with celiac to eat gluten.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding wheat being okay: There might have been some confusion because there are things with the word wheat in the name that doesn't contain the wheat protein and might be okay for a celiac but not okay for other intolerances. Buckwheat is one example of something that has wheat in the title but is not wheat in the celiac sense.

Wheat starch is a more questionable thing. Some people claim that it is possible to remove starch from the wheat protein and that theoretcially would make it okay for a celiac but still not okay from some wheat allergies.

Let me be clear, I'm not advocating using gluten-free wheat starch, I'm just trying to explain why there is seemingly contradictory information on this and other website.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites