Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ebrbetty

Frozen gluten-free Taquitos?

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Oh wow thanks, I'm going to my moms today, she has a trader joes in her town, I'll pick some up.


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I just picked up some at Whole Foods and can't remember the brand name to save my life. But, they have some :)

If you remember would you please post the brand..thanks!


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i believe the brand i buy is called delimex?? i don't quite remember. I bought them at walmart, and called the co while at the store. the lady on the phone assured me they were gluten-free. good price :)


Sweetfudge

Born and raised in Portland, OR; Currently living in Provo, UT

Gluten-free since June 2006

Also living with Hypoglycemia since 1991

Dairy-free for good since summer 2008

Started IBS diet and probiotics at GI's recommendation - Fall 2008

Also avoiding: potatoes, beans, crucifers, popcorn, most red meat, coconut milk :(

Started eating a Paleo diet Spring 2011. Love it!

The grass is always greener where you water it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, Delimex Taquitos are gluten free.

thank you both, never heard of that brand..maybe its not available in MASS


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have gotten the ones at HEB. I don't know the name, I think it is just the HEB brand (the grocery store brand). If you don't have an HEB, it is a grocery store, I think only in Texas....


EnteroLab test positive for gluten intolerence and 2 gluten intolerence and celiac genes

DQ2 and DQ3 sub type DQ7 in December 2005

Gluten-free since Enterolab test, December 2, 2005.

Lame Advertisement Test positive for gluten intolerence in Sept 2005.

THEN found out that my fathers mother had nontropical sprue, she passed away at 40 from (stomach) cancer, had holes in her intestines when they caught it. I had no idea....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Be careful with the delimex taquitos, some are gluten-free and some are not (I think the chicken are okay but the beef have soy sauce, but it is clearly labeled). Love them with fresh guacamole!

Hez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi!

We get the ones at Whole Foods and the brand is their house brand - "365 brand" their allergen statement is on the label that says "good manufacturing practices used to segregate ingrediants in a facility that also processes . . ."

We have eaten them without incident, but then again it is extremely hard to tell when my daughter has been glutened. But in general we have been happy with the safety of the 365 brand products. Unlike Trader Joes who has blanket labeled almost every item that it is produced on equipment shared with wheat.

(We are also in MASS).

Barb


Daughter, Camryn diagnosed with diabetes 3/06

diagnosed with celiac (blood test and biosy confirmed) 5/06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you e-mail Heinz they will send you a gluten free list. The Delimex taquitos are included on this list. Some are gluten free, some are not, so please be careful. The gluten free list that they'll send you will have the code numbers for safe foods. :) It makes it pretty easy to tell. I know the plain beef in the corn tortillas are safe, but I'm not sure of any of the others.


~Angie~

Gluten free since May 2004

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Trader Joe's chicken taquitos are back on the gluten free list. That's if you have one near you I guess.

Those are my favorite ones. I like to heat up some refried beans and put the taquitos over them with some melted cheese. Yum!


Jillian

Positive Blood test and Biopsy

Inflamed stomach lining

Gluten free since July 6, 2005

Tarrytown, NY

"Sometimes being a b$tch is all a woman has to hold onto." - Dolores Claiborne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TJ's taquitos are really good! My DD got sick of them though because she was taking them for lunch almost every day. I think there is a brand that is sold at Costco that is gluten free. I don't remember the name of the brand though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My husband likes Jose Ole Taquitos Chicken flavor (in corn tortillas).

We are new to the ingrediant reading, but I think they are gluten free - Stone ground corn masa flour, water, guar gum, vegetable oil - tortillas. filling - chicken meat with modified corn starch, salt, sodium phosphate, water, and then less than 2% of peppers, onions, alt, spice, garlic and onion powder, paprika, chicken flavor, salt, maltodextrin, sugar, fat, whey, vegetable stock (carrot, onion, celery), flavors and turmeric, vinegar, soy flour, modified food starch.

We were told that in the US, in the last couple of years, companies have been required to put on their labels if the modified food starch is from wheat. If it is not listed, then its from corn.

The box also lists that is contains milk and soy. (other versions say they contain wheat, but this one doesn't).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Has anyone tried the ones sold at Sam's? I used to buy these when the boys were young and they were good. I don't remember the name of them. I forgot about them.

Gail


Gluten Free since Jan. 06

Gluten intolerant. DQ 0301 DQ 0602

Lactose intolerant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
My husband likes Jose Ole Taquitos Chicken flavor (in corn tortillas).

We are new to the ingrediant reading, but I think they are gluten free - Stone ground corn masa flour, water, guar gum, vegetable oil - tortillas. filling - chicken meat with modified corn starch, salt, sodium phosphate, water, and then less than 2% of peppers, onions, alt, spice, garlic and onion powder, paprika, chicken flavor, salt, maltodextrin, sugar, fat, whey, vegetable stock (carrot, onion, celery), flavors and turmeric, vinegar, soy flour, modified food starch.

We were told that in the US, in the last couple of years, companies have been required to put on their labels if the modified food starch is from wheat. If it is not listed, then its from corn.

The box also lists that is contains milk and soy. (other versions say they contain wheat, but this one doesn't).

What about the Maltodextrin? I'm new at label reading too - and I thought I watched for that one...Is that another US is corn - others may use something else?

I have the demelix ones too - I found them at Walmart and Target (I LOVE TARGET). They are yummy with salsa :)


Tritty (my childhood nickname....)

Age 31, Mommy of 3

Blood test positive for celiac 1/16/07

gluten-free since 1/16/07

Endoscopy 2/13/07 - small hiatal hernia, scalloped mucosa in 1st and 2nd part of duodenum, some erosion of the esophogus.

Two oldest kids - fine so far :)

My 17 mo old has eosinophilic esophogitis. Only showing milk allergy? So completely off dairy for time being to see if that is trigger...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What about the Maltodextrin? I'm new at label reading too - and I thought I watched for that one...Is that another US is corn - others may use something else?

I have the demelix ones too - I found them at Walmart and Target (I LOVE TARGET). They are yummy with salsa :)

I couldn't remember why I wasn't concerned with that :) Too much information to keep track of! :)

So I looked it up - this is what I found:

Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes. (1) Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA, must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications. (2) Donald Kasarda Ph.D., a research chemist specializing on grain proteins, of the United States Department of Agriculture, found that all maltodextrins in the USA are made from corn starch, using enzymes that are NOT derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats. On that basis he believes that celiacs need not be too concerned about maltodextrins, though he cautions that there is no guarantee that a manufacturer won't change their process to use wheat starch or a gluten-based enzyme in the future. (3) - May 1997 Sprue-Nik News

Maltodextrin

When labeled as

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
When labeled as

Tritty (my childhood nickname....)

Age 31, Mommy of 3

Blood test positive for celiac 1/16/07

gluten-free since 1/16/07

Endoscopy 2/13/07 - small hiatal hernia, scalloped mucosa in 1st and 2nd part of duodenum, some erosion of the esophogus.

Two oldest kids - fine so far :)

My 17 mo old has eosinophilic esophogitis. Only showing milk allergy? So completely off dairy for time being to see if that is trigger...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So what if it says "Made in Mexico" on the package and has maltodextrin in it? Like packaged Kool-Aid for example...? It would have to say wheat b/c it is sold in the US?

I don't know, so this is just a guess.. But I think it means things made in the US. So if its made in mexico, and it has maltodextrin in it, there is no guarantee it is gluten-free. I don't think the selling location matters, just the manufacturing...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I don't know, so this is just a guess.. But I think it means things made in the US. So if its made in mexico, and it has maltodextrin in it, there is no guarantee it is gluten-free. I don't think the selling location matters, just the manufacturing...

That's what I thought, but wasn't sure...Anyone know for sure?


Tritty (my childhood nickname....)

Age 31, Mommy of 3

Blood test positive for celiac 1/16/07

gluten-free since 1/16/07

Endoscopy 2/13/07 - small hiatal hernia, scalloped mucosa in 1st and 2nd part of duodenum, some erosion of the esophogus.

Two oldest kids - fine so far :)

My 17 mo old has eosinophilic esophogitis. Only showing milk allergy? So completely off dairy for time being to see if that is trigger...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites