Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

ebrbetty

Frozen gluten-free Taquitos?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I just picked up some at Whole Foods and can't remember the brand name to save my life. But, they have some :)

If you remember would you please post the brand..thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i believe the brand i buy is called delimex?? i don't quite remember. I bought them at walmart, and called the co while at the store. the lady on the phone assured me they were gluten-free. good price :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, Delimex Taquitos are gluten free.

thank you both, never heard of that brand..maybe its not available in MASS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Be careful with the delimex taquitos, some are gluten-free and some are not (I think the chicken are okay but the beef have soy sauce, but it is clearly labeled). Love them with fresh guacamole!

Hez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi!

We get the ones at Whole Foods and the brand is their house brand - "365 brand" their allergen statement is on the label that says "good manufacturing practices used to segregate ingrediants in a facility that also processes . . ."

We have eaten them without incident, but then again it is extremely hard to tell when my daughter has been glutened. But in general we have been happy with the safety of the 365 brand products. Unlike Trader Joes who has blanket labeled almost every item that it is produced on equipment shared with wheat.

(We are also in MASS).

Barb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you e-mail Heinz they will send you a gluten free list. The Delimex taquitos are included on this list. Some are gluten free, some are not, so please be careful. The gluten free list that they'll send you will have the code numbers for safe foods. :) It makes it pretty easy to tell. I know the plain beef in the corn tortillas are safe, but I'm not sure of any of the others.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Trader Joe's chicken taquitos are back on the gluten free list. That's if you have one near you I guess.

Those are my favorite ones. I like to heat up some refried beans and put the taquitos over them with some melted cheese. Yum!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TJ's taquitos are really good! My DD got sick of them though because she was taking them for lunch almost every day. I think there is a brand that is sold at Costco that is gluten free. I don't remember the name of the brand though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My husband likes Jose Ole Taquitos Chicken flavor (in corn tortillas).

We are new to the ingrediant reading, but I think they are gluten free - Stone ground corn masa flour, water, guar gum, vegetable oil - tortillas. filling - chicken meat with modified corn starch, salt, sodium phosphate, water, and then less than 2% of peppers, onions, alt, spice, garlic and onion powder, paprika, chicken flavor, salt, maltodextrin, sugar, fat, whey, vegetable stock (carrot, onion, celery), flavors and turmeric, vinegar, soy flour, modified food starch.

We were told that in the US, in the last couple of years, companies have been required to put on their labels if the modified food starch is from wheat. If it is not listed, then its from corn.

The box also lists that is contains milk and soy. (other versions say they contain wheat, but this one doesn't).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Has anyone tried the ones sold at Sam's? I used to buy these when the boys were young and they were good. I don't remember the name of them. I forgot about them.

Gail

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
My husband likes Jose Ole Taquitos Chicken flavor (in corn tortillas).

We are new to the ingrediant reading, but I think they are gluten free - Stone ground corn masa flour, water, guar gum, vegetable oil - tortillas. filling - chicken meat with modified corn starch, salt, sodium phosphate, water, and then less than 2% of peppers, onions, alt, spice, garlic and onion powder, paprika, chicken flavor, salt, maltodextrin, sugar, fat, whey, vegetable stock (carrot, onion, celery), flavors and turmeric, vinegar, soy flour, modified food starch.

We were told that in the US, in the last couple of years, companies have been required to put on their labels if the modified food starch is from wheat. If it is not listed, then its from corn.

The box also lists that is contains milk and soy. (other versions say they contain wheat, but this one doesn't).

What about the Maltodextrin? I'm new at label reading too - and I thought I watched for that one...Is that another US is corn - others may use something else?

I have the demelix ones too - I found them at Walmart and Target (I LOVE TARGET). They are yummy with salsa :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What about the Maltodextrin? I'm new at label reading too - and I thought I watched for that one...Is that another US is corn - others may use something else?

I have the demelix ones too - I found them at Walmart and Target (I LOVE TARGET). They are yummy with salsa :)

I couldn't remember why I wasn't concerned with that :) Too much information to keep track of! :)

So I looked it up - this is what I found:

Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes. (1) Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA, must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications. (2) Donald Kasarda Ph.D., a research chemist specializing on grain proteins, of the United States Department of Agriculture, found that all maltodextrins in the USA are made from corn starch, using enzymes that are NOT derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats. On that basis he believes that celiacs need not be too concerned about maltodextrins, though he cautions that there is no guarantee that a manufacturer won't change their process to use wheat starch or a gluten-based enzyme in the future. (3) - May 1997 Sprue-Nik News

Maltodextrin

When labeled as

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So what if it says "Made in Mexico" on the package and has maltodextrin in it? Like packaged Kool-Aid for example...? It would have to say wheat b/c it is sold in the US?

I don't know, so this is just a guess.. But I think it means things made in the US. So if its made in mexico, and it has maltodextrin in it, there is no guarantee it is gluten-free. I don't think the selling location matters, just the manufacturing...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I don't know, so this is just a guess.. But I think it means things made in the US. So if its made in mexico, and it has maltodextrin in it, there is no guarantee it is gluten-free. I don't think the selling location matters, just the manufacturing...

That's what I thought, but wasn't sure...Anyone know for sure?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...