Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Please clarify what you are asking....I'm not quite sure how to answer it :)

Soy in itself does not contain gluten, so soy is safe for Celiacs to consume.

However, soy SAUCE can be made with gluten. So, if there is soy sauce in something, you will need to know the ingredients of that (which they should list on the label).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some soy sauces are gluten-free but I have never come across them in my chinese places. I do know there are soy sauces in stores that you can purchase without gluten.

Is this what you were asking? I am confused a bit.


~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~

Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

36_22_10[1].gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I generally stay away from soy, but it is only because I seem to be sensitive to it.

Tamari soy sauce is the kind that I have used in the past that doesn't contain wheat. However, you ALWAYS have to read the label to make sure.

Also, the only chinese restaurant that I have been to that serves meals with gluten free tamari soy sauce is PF Chang's. They have a gluten free menu on their website: http://www.pfchangs.com/cuisine/menu/Glute...olerantMenu.pdf

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites