Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

newg

Bath And Body Works Lotions

Recommended Posts

Hello All!

I have a question about these lotions. I received a TON for Christmas and looked at the label this morning and one of the ingredients is oats (there is some fancy word for it which I cannot remember). Anyway...is it OK to use these lotions?

Thanks! Gwen :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Hello All!

I have a question about these lotions. I received a TON for Christmas and looked at the label this morning and one of the ingredients is oats (there is some fancy word for it which I cannot remember). Anyway...is it OK to use these lotions?

Thanks! Gwen :rolleyes:

I definitely would NOT use them. They could very easily get into your mouth and cause a reaction. I exchanged all of my lotions that I got for Christmas for body wash. Most of the body washes don't contain gluten. I think some of the body creams and body butters may also be gluten free, but I'm not sure.


~Angie~

Gluten free since May 2004

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use products with oats on my arms and legs, but not face and hands.


"But then, in all honesty, if scientists don't play god, who will?"

- James Watson

My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.

- Ashleigh Brilliant

Leap, and the net will appear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could return them and exchange them for the body creams which DON"T have any gluten in them and are even MORE moisturizing.


***************************

Beverly

Gluten free since 2005

In the midst of winter, I found there was within me an invincible summer.

Albert Careb

36_35_6[1].gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote to them and this was the repsonse. They said that the following ingredients had gluten:

Wheat--------Triticum Vulgare

Oat------------Avena Sativa

Barley--------Hordeum Distichon

Rye-----------Secale Cereale

Soy-----------Glycina soja

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, the problem with the avena on the list is that we just don't know enough about oats to know if it is an official problem for Celiacs. Some researchers say that pure uncontaminated oats are safe, but some say that Celiacs may still cross react, etc. So, technically, we don't know if their oats contain gluten.

Also----soy should not contain gluten....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that I was getting mildly ill (gas) from oat extract in my sunscreen. I stopped using it and I now use gluten-free suncreens.


Carrie Faith

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease in March 2004

Postitive tTg Blood Test, December 2003

Positive Biopsy, March 3, 2004

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites