This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What To Eat On The Go?

jny21

jny21 Rookie

I was recently diagnosed with celiacs a few months ago and am having some difficulty adjusting the diet to my lifestyle. I'm a commuting college student and am always going somewhere. I cook dinner but my breakfasts and lunchs I have to eat on the go. The only things that work well are pb sandwiches on rice bread and bananas. By the end of the night, I'm starving and go carb crazy and have started to gain weight as a result. Does anyone have any suggestions for healthy gluten free foods that you can take with you? There are tons of grocery store options in the area, so I'm very open to suggestions.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

wowzer Community Regular

You can get gluten free bars, fruit, vegies, yogurt, cheese, make some trail mix.

Laurad- Apprentice

I'm a fan of string cheese, homemade smoothies and protein shakes in go-cups, and sandwich bags full of gluten-free cereal like Gorilla Munch.

johnsoniu Apprentice

Boiled eggs are easily tranportable

Yogurt( I mix in some Enjoy Life Cranapple Crunch or Berry Crunch cereal for carbs).

Left-over gluten free pizza( there are several good brands available at most stores that carry gluten free products. Check out the gluten free mall products page for product reviews).

Lunch meats like roast beef, turkey and ham make quick and easy roll-ups with lettuce and/or sliced cheese and string cheese.

Saz Explorer

Nut bars are a good option, you could also try nuts, or gluten-free pretzels or cornchips. I also like flavoured rice crackers.