Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Narnia75

Cream Of Tartar Ok?

Recommended Posts

Someone in our church group just found out he has a gluten allergy, so we are trying to accomodate him when we bring snacks. I am planning on making schaumtorte which is egg whites, sugar, then fruit on top. But I am supposed to use cream of tartar with the eggs. I know why it is there: to stabilize the egg whites while you beat the heck out of them. But I don't know what it is. Can someone tell me if it is safe for a gluten free diet? Thank you so much!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Hi Narnia and welcome! :)

Yes cream of tartar is safe for a gluten-free diet. If you are going out to buy it, I would suggest McCormicks--they are a company that will disclose any added gluten ingredients on the label. I use their products exclusively.

Just for fun, here's a little info. on cream of tartar

http://www.ochef.com/933.htm

Your dessert sounds delicious :D


Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites