Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Moongirl

Aruba

Anyone have any good gluten-free experiences in Aruba?

Dx & gluten-free since 12/09/05

Positive blood and endo test

Boston, MA

What doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

moongirl,

re; aruba. I have been traveling annually to Aruba since 1981, was diagnosed celiac in 2003. So I have been to Aruba 3 times since celiac diagnosis. The bad news: there is not alot of knowledge about celiac disease in Aruba. There are several large grocery stores, but none I found that carried gluten-free bread or products. So, if you eat gluten-free bread, I would it bring it with you from the US. I did. I also brought plenty of gluten-free Power bars to have in a pinch (long airline flight etc...)

Beyond that, you just have to ask alot of questions of the chef at any restaurant. If you stick with high end restaurants you should be ok. Places like Bennigans, Houlihans, etc....will likely not be able to help you. I think there is an Outback Steakhouse which does carry a gluten-free menu in the US. THere is a restaurant called El Gaucho (steak place) and I have always been ok there. Steak, baked potato and plain salad.

But, the sun and sand after a long winter are worth the extra effort! Good luck!

Jamswampy

Anyone have any good gluten-free experiences in Aruba?