Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Tash_n_tail

Apple Cider Vinegar

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Is Apple Cider Vinegar gluten free? I'm assuming that it is but is there another side effect coeliacs will suffer if exposed to C.V?

Thanks,

Marcus.

Yes, apple cider vinegar is gluten-free. The only exception I can think of is Apple Cider *Flavored* Vinegar by Heinz. Their Apple Cider Vinegar is fine, though, I use it all the time :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ta! On an empty stomach or when ever feeling rough or just as a natural tonic?

You can take it anytime. Bragg's Apple Cider Vinegar recommends doing it three times per day. I use it because of the effects of all the meds I'm on. It tastes good with some honey or pure maple syrup in it. I must need it because it tastes good to me. So does lemon water, and it does the same thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, apple cider vinegar is gluten-free. The only exception I can think of is Apple Cider *Flavored* Vinegar by Heinz. Their Apple Cider Vinegar is fine, though, I use it all the time smile.gif

Actually, that is incorrect. It's says right on the heinz site. Flavoured apple cider vinegar is made from corn. Not wheat, rye, barley, or oats.

 

http://www.heinzvinegar.com/faq.aspx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, that is incorrect. It's says right on the heinz site. Flavoured apple cider vinegar is made from corn. Not wheat, rye, barley, or oats.

 

http://www.heinzvinegar.com/faq.aspx

You are replying to a comment from 6 years ago. Products, ingredients and manufacturing practices could well have changed in that amount of time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On November 17, 2013 at 11:29 AM, AdamL said:

Actually, that is incorrect. It's says right on the heinz site. Flavoured apple cider vinegar is made from corn. Not wheat, rye, barley, or oats.

 

http://www.heinzvinegar.com/faq.aspx

 Corn gluten is still gluten and not safe for some. It depends on if you follow the traditional gluten free diet or the strict gluten free diet. Corn gluten can be tolerated by some and not others. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, mrobertson said:

 Corn gluten is still gluten and not safe for some. It depends on if you follow the traditional gluten free diet or the strict gluten free diet. Corn gluten can be tolerated by some and not others. 

Corn is safe for those with celiac disease.  

http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/archives/faq/does-corn-contain-gluten

However, many of our celiac.com members have intolerances to various foods like corn, soy, lactose, etc.  Many members report that their intolerances resolve over time (never for gluten though.....) but some never resolve.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...