This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Does My 2 Yr Old Son Have Celiac?

frankiesmum

frankiesmum Newbie

Hi,

Newbie here...

My son, who'll be 2 at the end of March, has been ill with sickness & nasty nappies since the beginning of December last year, some days worse than others...our doctors & health visitor put it down to bugs going around again & again, but last week enough was enough & I insisted they investigate...

This is what I see as his symptoms...

Firstly..he's nearly 2 & doesn't walk..he's a bum shuffler..HV & Physio put it down to lazyness, even though I explained that he cried a lot when you stood him & when he was placed on his tummy.

He rocks his head & body furiously from side to side to go to sleep.

For the last 3+ months he has vomited (mostly at night in his cot) 2 or 3 times a week & his nappies have been either full of stodgy pale poo or tiny wet bits that he cries when he squeezes them out.

He went from being a happy, chilled little chappy to a whingebag.

..from a brilliant appetite to struggling to get him to eat anything.

Vomited on a couple of occasions when he's been given Barley water to drink at friends houses.

Vomited as a baby after weetabix.

He's small & skinny & sometimes his belly bloats in a 6 months pregnant type way.

Last Tuesday my doctor took a stool sample to eliminate various bugs & stuff but not to look for gluten intolerance.

It came back clear this morning so I'm taking him back in the morning.

Since last Tuesday, we have removed Gluten from his diet completely & now (apart from considering a 2nd mortgage to pay for it! lol) :-

He's happy

He's hungry