Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Electra

Lachoy Soy Sauce Question!

Recommended Posts

I know that the Caramel Color is in question but I called their 1-800 number and they claim to list all ingredients for allergies on their list. The only thing is that they do not list gluten as one of their allergens (they do list wheat though). They also list all allergies in bold letters at the end of the label and it only says CONTAINS SOY!! My question is has anyone here used LaChoy Soy Sauce and if so do you belive it is safe? My only concern is that the Caramel color has Malt in it which may not be listed. Does anyone trust LaChoy? Thanks in advance for any information you may be able to give!!

LaChoy is the only Soy Sauce that I've been able to find that does not contain Wheat!!


~~Angie~~

DX'd With Narcolepsy In 1995

Dx'ed With Celiac On 12-18-06

Positive Biopsy On 2-1-07

DX'd With Pernicious Anemia 4-24-07

Daughter Has DH, so I suspect she also has Celiac!!

"If Alcoholism was Celiac Disease they would make us drink ourselves into kidney failure before they would admit we had the disease"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Se, Jerry uses La Choy. Both their Soy Sauce and Teryaki Sauce are gluten-free. No side effects here.


Dental Enamel Defects

Gastro symptoms

Positive Dietary Response

Enterolab Antigliadin IgA positive 12/06

Transglutaminase IgA Positive

Blood TG IgA Negative 2/07

HLA-DQ 3,1 (Subtype 7,5)

Gluten Intolerant...Likely non Celiac

Western Oregon (Or-ee-gun) US

Why Worry?...YOU are a sentient being on a habitable world in a cosmos largely filled with nothing.

You

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Se, Jerry uses La Choy. Both their Soy Sauce and Teryaki Sauce are gluten-free. No side effects here.

I use LaChoy or San-J wheat free tamari... read the labels, San J makes several sauces and only the one is gluten-free.


Ev in Michigan

GFDF since 8/20/05

Negative Bloodwork ~

Dr. encourages me to trust my

"Gut Reaction"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone. I've been having some strange constant aching in my right side and LaChoy soy sauce is one of the things that I have been eating that is different then normal. I also have been eating cadburry caramel eggs and those could be the culprit. The other possibility is that I have another cyst on my ovary. I used to be able to tell when I had a cyst on my ovary, but my celiac pains have gotten so bad in the past few years that I have been unable to tell for a while. I'm almost positive this is cyst on the ovary pain UG!! If so then it should be subsiding soon!!


~~Angie~~

DX'd With Narcolepsy In 1995

Dx'ed With Celiac On 12-18-06

Positive Biopsy On 2-1-07

DX'd With Pernicious Anemia 4-24-07

Daughter Has DH, so I suspect she also has Celiac!!

"If Alcoholism was Celiac Disease they would make us drink ourselves into kidney failure before they would admit we had the disease"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, regular La Choy, without any mention of wheat, is gluten-free. I also think it tastes nasty, and use San-J's wheat free tamari (reduced sodium) or Bragg's amino acids. :P


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

May I suggest Eden Organic Tamari Soy Sauce, it's quite tasty! I've always been pretty particular about soy sauce, Kikkomans my brand (ex). The few unfortunate times I got cheap and tried something such as Kroger brand, I quickly returned it for a refund.

Is the Edens gluten-free? You tell me. Here's the ingredients:

~ water

~ organic soybeans

~ sea salt

~ alcohol (to preserve freshness)

~ Koji

Organic Tamari

"Eden Tamari is the type of soy sauce that is characterized as Wheat Free. It's fermented more quickly than traditional tamari. Koji inoculated soybeans are aged for six months in this accelerated brewing process. Tamari was originally the by-product of miso making. Today it is mash brewed. Tamari imparts a stronger more pronounced flavor like that of miso. Compare it to some Eden Shoyu, is our request."

"Meticulous tracking and audited records guarantee the purity of this food from the farm to your table."

Eden Foods Inc. Clinton, Michigan.

OK, so there you go. It's expensive. I think I got it at Central Market or Whole Foods. I have no idea what Koji, miso, or Shoyu are. Nor had I ever even heard of Tamari prior to looking at this bottle.

best regards, lm


gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I use LaChoy or San-J wheat free tamari... read the labels, San J makes several sauces and only the one is gluten-free.

ST,

Your so right. I was just at the grocery store and saw a San-J Tamari Soy Sauce that had wheat listed. In fact, not one soy sauce or terriaki product at Albertsons was wheat free. And they had a huge selection. Ya gotta be real careful.

best regards, lm


gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LaChoy's sweet and sour sauce is gluten-free too - one of the only ones I've seen so far...


Tritty (my childhood nickname....)

Age 31, Mommy of 3

Blood test positive for celiac 1/16/07

gluten-free since 1/16/07

Endoscopy 2/13/07 - small hiatal hernia, scalloped mucosa in 1st and 2nd part of duodenum, some erosion of the esophogus.

Two oldest kids - fine so far :)

My 17 mo old has eosinophilic esophogitis. Only showing milk allergy? So completely off dairy for time being to see if that is trigger...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
LaChoy's sweet and sour sauce is gluten-free too - one of the only ones I've seen so far...

Yah I have their sweet and sour sauce too and it's yummy. I love their Soy Sauce, but their Teriaki sauce is terrible (in my opinion)!! LaChoy is the only brand I can find in any of my local supermarkets that is gluten free.


~~Angie~~

DX'd With Narcolepsy In 1995

Dx'ed With Celiac On 12-18-06

Positive Biopsy On 2-1-07

DX'd With Pernicious Anemia 4-24-07

Daughter Has DH, so I suspect she also has Celiac!!

"If Alcoholism was Celiac Disease they would make us drink ourselves into kidney failure before they would admit we had the disease"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      92,014
    • Most Online
      6,255

    Newest Member
    luvbaggio
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      115,623
    • Total Posts
      969,316

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):


  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):


  • Blog Entries