Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

lily_celeste

Am I Sad Or Mad?

I am new to this but shouldn't be. I was diagnosed with celiac, my mother tells me, as a baby, 50 years ago. She said I ate lamb, but never mentioned other dietary changes. My parents are both pharmacists and I think they would have eliminated gluten from my diet if they had known to. I grew up eating the same things the rest of my family did. Did they know and just didn't think it mattered?

I just assumed I was cured as a baby. I ate normally until I went away for college and began dieting. I eliminated the normal things, but I wasn't very strict about it. I continued to eat that way, off and on, until last year when I was hospitalized for 11 weeks and began to enjoy "treats" such as bread, pasta and desserts since they were specified for me by the dietician. Once I came home I included bread/cereal/pasta in what I thought was a balanced diet. I gained a lot of weight this year!

I have been depressed most of my life. I have tingling in my legs (peripheral neuropathy), stomach ulcers, IBS, insomnia. I think I mentioned celiac to my doctor, but maybe I didn't since I thought it was moot.

I guess I'm mostly wondering if they knew celiac was only cured by a gluten-free diet 50 years ago. Please help me.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I'd say I'd be both. I'm sure your parents must not have realized how serious it was. It's really common, even now, for people who are diagnosed with celiac to be told by their doctors to "try to avoid" wheat. People also saw the very thin body type as being the main problem with celiac, and what parents usually brought their children to the doctor for. Once a child started gaining weight they probably thought, or maybe even were told, that the crisis was over and they could return to normal life.