Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BUGTWIG

Newbie Questons About Testing

Hello

I have been eating wheat free for over 7 months. I feel a whole lot better not eating it. I get sick to my stomach and awful cramps followed by diarehha. I also get a migraine.

I choose to eat this way because I feel better. There are days that I still have attacks and had not eaten any wheat. I brought this up to my doctor and he brought up celiac. The problem he said I have to start eating wheat for the tests to be accurate. This is something I will not do to my self.

I talked about treatment being dietary why can't I just change the way I eat and not get an official diagnoses. Is this Possible??

I have since been eating gluten free. And I haven't had an attack.

In my past I have been diagnosed with Gurd IBS spastic colon and others. None of these diagnoses have taken care of the problem. I have taken medicines and made dietary changes. Still had attacks.

I am hopeful at the prospect that this treatment will help me. I am just not sure how important an official diagnoses is?

Thank you All

Jyn

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

As you noted, you don't need an official diagnosis to eat the way you want, so there's unlikely to be a really good reason for a diagnosis. There's a question about whether or not, if you were hospitalized, but able to eat "real" food (non-IV nutrition, for instance) that you'd be able to 'demand' gluten free food, but that's about it. You can talk to your doctor about having it recorded that it's suspected you're celiac based on dietary results, but there are downsides to a formal diagnosis as well - in some cases (some people in the US, for instance, have been denied insurance).

Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy