Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

zachsmom

Tapioca Starch / Is This A Allergin To Wheat Intolerants

Recommended Posts

it seems ( maybe only to me as I could have purchased a look alike container) as though a gerber baby food has changed a babyfood .... Mango dessert which the last time I bought it ... was just plain old mango with no dessert,.. now has tapioca starch... is this a problem for wheat intolerants.. He eats rice flour fine but .. I realize this is not rice flour but something totally differnt ... HElp .. I need to know if I just glutened the baby.... ahahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I need help and I need it fast.. Celiac busters .... ( lol ) but help really ...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Tapioca is gluten-free. It is safe for celiacs.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

okay I am awake now..... this is in most flours ... and stuff that we are using to combat the wheat intolerance... But I know some folks are allergic to it ... But I guess I am going to have to see.

But are most folks who are not Celiac but wheat intolerant able to eat it or is this a who knows ans you have to see ... just wondering.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks Psawyer... I was in a panick....... stuff hasnt slipped by me in a while .... but this one did. I guess they changed something or just have a similiar lable for a slightly differnt product... but I have ingrained in my head from this web site to allways read ingredients.... I guess better at the grocery store .. and not after you have fed your baby the product.

thanks for your speedy response.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

tapioca, iirc, is a root, not even a grain, and is definitely unrelated to wheat and safe for celiacs. there are a few people who do not handle tapioca well, but that's the exception rather than the rule. (heh, so are all of us, though. :) )


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      92,025
    • Most Online
      6,255

    Newest Member
    AshokPrajapat
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      115,633
    • Total Posts
      969,436

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):


  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):


  • Blog Entries