Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

majicbunnies

Huntz Ketchup gluten-free?

Recommended Posts

Is Huntz Ketchup gluten free? I called and the recording said they label for wheat (I know wf isn't the same as gluten-free), but the next day, I had D...

Does anyone know for sure if it's gluten free?

What brands are?

Thanks =)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Although I don't eat ketchup, I recall it's mostly just tomato puree, vinegar, and a sweetener like corn syrup or sugar. So if they used grain vinegar then it wouldn't be gluten-free.

Here's enough info to make your own:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ketchup

<EDIT>

I just looked it up, and Heinz Ketchup is gluten-free:

http://www.heinz.com/Consumer_faq.aspx#Glu...Free%20Products

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just received this in an email response:

"We cannot state that this product is gluten free. It contains <20 ppm WBRO gluten. (10/25/05 email)"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"So if they used grain vinegar then it wouldn't be gluten-free."

Um, grain vinegar is almost always made from corn, rarely from wheat. And it would be distilled no matter what it's made from.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear majicbunnies,

I would go with Heinz. I use it. I love it, too! They make a number of safe products. Ore-Ida French Fries and Tator Tots are allowed! :) Heinz also owns Lea & Perrins. All of those products are safe as long as you are in the U.S. If you are in Canada, there are different ingredients used, so you have to be careful.

Sincerely,

NoGluGirl

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...