This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newbie May Have Ciliac Disease

CaveBear

CaveBear Newbie

Hello everyone.

I'm really very new to this. I went into the hospital tuesday with severe iron deficiency

anemia (hemogloban was 6.4). Got a total of 4 units of packed red blood cells to get my

counts higher, but also while I was there they gave me both an upper and lower endoscopy.

They found no sources of bleeding, which is what they were looking for, but found signs

of Celiac in my small intestine and took a biopsy. I won't know the results of the biopsy

probably for around a week. In the mean time they put me on a gluten free diet.

I went out and found a couple heath food stores that stocked gluten free products,

so I got some rice bread, pizza and pasta.

Anyways, like I said I am really new to this. If anyone can give me some helpful suggestions

on getting started and maybe what to watch for I would really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Randy

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Lisa Mentor

Welcome Randy:

This is a great place to learn about Celiac.

First, don't rush off any by gluten free foods yet. (I still have some I bought when I was first dx'd almost two years ago). Try to stick to naturally gluten free foods such as, meats, seafood, rice, potatos, fresh veggies, eggs and fruit.

The diet is not difficult and with a little adjustment, you can eat as well as before and healthier.

Some people are sensitive to dairy until they heal and then gradually re-introduce into their diet.

There is a ton of information on this site. Read and Ask.

HawkFire Explorer