Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Are wine vinegars okay as an ingredient....... red wine vinegar,distilled vinegar, burgundy wine,


28 yr old Male

Diagnosed Celiac in February 2007

Gluten-free/Casein Free

HLA DQ 2,3 Subtype (2,8) I have both celiac genes!

Married

1 child 9 months- Levi

Yeast/Bacteria overgrowth

" CHANGE THE WAY YOU LOOK AT THINGS AND THE THINGS YOU LOOK AT CHANGE"

Wayne Dyer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Yes, all vinegars are safe except for malt vinegar. With the exception of malt vinegar, all other types are distilled. The process of distillation is generally accepted as not allowing any gluten to pass into the final product. Some people disagree, and I am sure that they will post soon enough. I don't worry about vinegar other than malt vinegar. Wine vinegar does not have any gluten to begin with, so regardless of where you fall on the distillation question, there is absolutely nothing to worry about. Enjoy!


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites