Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dionnek

Starbuck's Dulce De Leche

Recommended Posts

does anyone know if the dulce de leche syrup at starbucks is gluten-free? I've tried calling and looking up online but can't get through. I heard a rumor that it had wheat starch in it. Also, does anyone know if that is in the Cinnamon Dolce Latte? I've been having one of those once a week since they came out, so now I"m freaking out that I might have been glutening myself this whole time!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just talked to Starbucks corp. They said the only gluten containing drinks they had were the following "add ins": malt for frappaccino, vanilla bean powder, java chip, egg nog flavor.

I asked if their tazo teas in the summer were gluten free b/c I thought I remembered one was not. But this rep said they were all fine.

And I asked about the brownie we have all been hearing about. She said it is being test marketed and is only available in the NY area.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Next time you are in just ask to read the bottle of syrup. I think the label of ingredients is on there. I usually get a chai so I am not as informed about the syrups.

Hez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
And I asked about the brownie we have all been hearing about. She said it is being test marketed and is only available in the NY area.

Ah thanks! I've been looking for it here in Jersey--that's why I've not seen it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm almost certain the syrup doesn't have gluten (none of the others do), but you can read at the store to find out. I can't remember what they put on top of the whipped cream on that ... perhaps that has gluten? I thought it was carmel drizzle, which is gluten-free.

The Cinnamon Dolce is fine.

The real egg nog they have at Christmas is fine, so is the nutmeg they use on top. I'm not familiar with the egg nog flavoring, or what it's used for.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the replies - I asked the server yesterday when I was at Starbucks if the cinnamon dolce had that syrup in it and she said no, so I was relieved and didn't bother looking at the syrup bottle, since I will just stay away from that anyway. I don't need another bad addiction! ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ah thanks! I've been looking for it here in Jersey--that's why I've not seen it.

Wait - so does that mean you guys need me to buy these a few times a day all over nyc so that they succeed and are nationally distributed? I think i can take one for the team :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for the replies - I asked the server yesterday when I was at Starbucks if the cinnamon dolce had that syrup in it and she said no, so I was relieved and didn't bother looking at the syrup bottle, since I will just stay away from that anyway. I don't need another bad addiction! ;)

Each flavor latte has a flavored syrup. All the syrups have basically the same ingredients ... the cinnamon dolce, has a cinnamon dolce syrup ... the vanilla, a vanilla syrup ... and the dulce de leche has the dulce de leche syrup.

That's why I'd be surprised if one syrup had gluten when all the others do not.

And, you New Yorkers, create a demand for gluten-free desserts!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Wait - so does that mean you guys need me to buy these a few times a day all over nyc so that they succeed and are nationally distributed? I think i can take one for the team :P

Could you please? We would appreciate it :lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I just talked to Starbucks corp. They said the only gluten containing drinks they had were the following "add ins": malt for frappaccino, vanilla bean powder, java chip, egg nog flavor.

I asked if their tazo teas in the summer were gluten free b/c I thought I remembered one was not. But this rep said they were all fine.

And I asked about the brownie we have all been hearing about. She said it is being test marketed and is only available in the NY area.

there are two tazo teas that are NOT safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
there are two tazo teas that are NOT safe.

Yep, Tazo has a great website that states which ones are not gluten-free. I think it is www.tazo.com.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...