Celiac.com Sponsor:

Celiac.com Sponsor:

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I3Daniel

Rx For Blood Work!

I figured this would happen, but there was really no way around it. I just need some advice about what to do...

I suggested to Daniel, after doing a ton of research, that he might be gluten-intolerant. He wasn't thrilled with the idea, but eventually wanted to try going gluten-free, to see if he would notice any changes. He wasn't able to go to the doctor right away to try for testing because he doesn't have medical insurance. So, about a week and a half ago, we started eating gluten-free, and already he's noticed a difference. We're both really glad we decided to give it a try.

Daniel's brother Mike works at a hospital (as a respiratory therapist, I think), and discussed this whole ordeal with a doctor he knows, and the doctor wound up giving Mike a script for Daniel for a Celiac blood panel. We were so excited! So, we're just going to have to pay for the blood work, which we should be able to handle, especially since Mike said he'd help pay for the testing! Mike is such a great guy, we're soo lucky to have him. I'm so glad at least someone in Daniel's family is taking this seriously and is willing to help!