Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

iluvfupa

Regular Budweiser-anyone Drink It?

Recommended Posts

After searching for gluten-free beers (redbridge and new grist did not appeal to my palate) I have noticed there is no set consensus on whether or not regular Budweiser contains gluten.

My question is does anyone here drink it or have experiences with drinking it after being gluten free? I am really interested in if anyone has experienced a positive or negative biopsy after regularly consuming Budweiser.

Edit:

This article explains the confusion on whether or not rice based beer that contains barley is gluten-free.

https://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodid=413

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


This is from Wikipedia

Budweiser is brewed using rice, barley malt, water, hops and yeast.

Regular Budweiser is not gluten-free.


gluten-free 12/05

diagnosed with Lyme Disease 12/06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This is from Wikipedia

Regular Budweiser is not gluten-free.

Yes, but vodka is usually made from grain yet is gluten free since it is distilled; they are saying the brewing process breaks down the barley and gluten in to peptides which may or may not be gluten free.

This is from https://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodid=413

"It is not proved beyond any doubt that the peptides in beer are actually toxic to celiac patients, but it is quite possible that the peptides remaining in any barley-based or wheat-based beer, Sapporo included, are harmful to celiac patients. "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest j_mommy

Yup, sure wouldn't drink it! Even if you don't have noticable symptoms after drinking it you could still be doing villi damage! I wouldn't chance my health on a beer!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, but vodka is usually made from grain yet is gluten free since it is distilled; they are saying the brewing process breaks down the barley and gluten in to peptides which may or may not be gluten free.

This is from https://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodid=413

"It is not proved beyond any doubt that the peptides in beer are actually toxic to celiac patients, but it is quite possible that the peptides remaining in any barley-based or wheat-based beer, Sapporo included, are harmful to celiac patients. "

Vodka is made with wheat or barley gluten? I thought vodka was either rice based or potato based.


Karen

positive bloodwork, positive biopsy

Celiac, collagenous colitis, hypothyroidism

endometriosis (at age 20)

spinal stenosis (early 20's)

Biopsy August 2006 confirmed complete villous atrophy despite being gluten-free for years and bloodwork within range showing compliance with diet. Doctor has confirmed diagnosis of Refractory Celiac Sprue.

Endoscopy also showed numerous stomach ulcers, have started taking Losec.

Mother to Eileen 13 yrs

Rhiannon 8 yrs

Daniel & Connor 6 yr twin boys......

"Joyfulness keeps the heart and face young. A good laugh makes us better friends with ourselves and everybody around us."

Orison Swett Marden

Laughter is the shortest distance between two people.

-- Victor Borge

"An optimist laughs to forget. A pessimist forgets to laugh."

Tom Nansbury

"Doctor to patient: I have good news and bad news. The good news is that you are not a hypochondriac."

Unknown

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Vodka is made with wheat or barley gluten? I thought vodka was either rice based or potato based.

Some are made from potatoes; not sure about rice but I am sure there are. Alot are made from wheat, Absolute says so right on the bottle. I believe Grey Goose is wheat too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a list of safe products...click on the site index and scroll down.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest j_mommy

Yes, some vodka's are ok! just check the bottle...if you go to a bar, as long as they are not packed most bartenders will let you check the bottle.

Prior to going gluten free...i drank Bud Light and I had symptoms the whole next day!!! Not fun!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest j_mommy

This site has vodka on the safe list...I believe b/c it's been distilled!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Even if you don't have noticable symptoms after drinking it you could still be doing villi damage! I wouldn't chance my health on a beer!

Yep I agree, that is why am asking if anyone has any experience with it :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yep I agree, that is why am asking if anyone has any experience with it :)

The issue is not just GI symptoms. If you are determined to drink this stuff you may want to try an experiment. Note please I am not reccommending that any confirmed celiac do this Get yourself a six pack of gluten-free beer and a six pack of Bud. One night drink the Bud and note how many drinks it takes to put you out of it, once you recover from your 'hangover' do the same thing with the gluten-free beer. Chances are you will find that you get much 'drunker' much faster and have a worse hangover with the Bud. What you will be seeing is the neurological effects and the toxicity that this has on your body. While your GI systems may not yell at you I can guarentee that your brain, pancreas, your liver, your gall bladder and other systems are going to be telling you not to do it again.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have one word for regular Bud or any other regular beer...POISON.

Re: vodka... vodka's made from many different sources. Potatoes, corn, wheat. I know that the distilling process is supposed to get rid of the gluten, but to be on the safe side I'm sticking with either potato or corn based vodkas from now on. Usually the vodka labels will say what it's made from. As for flavored vodkas, that's another story. Just like anything else, you either have to check the label or contact the manufacturer to find out if the flavoring is gluten-free.


little_c

If you scrutinize, you won't be glutenized.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The issue is not just GI symptoms. If you are determined to drink this stuff you may want to try an experiment. Note please I am not reccommending that any confirmed celiac do this Get yourself a six pack of gluten-free beer and a six pack of Bud. One night drink the Bud and note how many drinks it takes to put you out of it, once you recover from your 'hangover' do the same thing with the gluten-free beer. Chances are you will find that you get much 'drunker' much faster and have a worse hangover with the Bud. What you will be seeing is the neurological effects and the toxicity that this has on your body. While your GI systems may not yell at you I can guarentee that your brain, pancreas, your liver, your gall bladder and other systems are going to be telling you not to do it again.

My former life. Not realizing that normal people didn't get drunk/out of their mind off three beers nor did normal poeple get 48 hour hangovers/severe gi sympotoms from three beers. Aaah, then came life after going gluten-free, where a couple/few gluten-free beers or other gluten-free drinks don't cause severe debilitating hangovers. LOL


Tapioca intolerant

First cousin dx'd with Celiac Disease

Grandmother died of malnutrition b/c everything made her sick... sounds like celiac to me.

Gluten-free since June 2005

Dx with IBS February 2005

Blood tests both negative (or inconclusive?) for celiac (in 2002 and 2004)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
My former life. Not realizing that normal people didn't get drunk/out of their mind off three beers nor did normal poeple get 48 hour hangovers/severe gi sympotoms from three beers. Aaah, then came life after going gluten-free, where a couple/few gluten-free beers or other gluten-free drinks don't cause severe debilitating hangovers. LOL

Yea me too. Then I couldn't figure out why I would get drunk and a hangover from nonalcoholic beer. Duhhh.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites