Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ebrbetty

Hebrew National Hotdogs?

Recommended Posts

Hi Guys, does anyone know if the low fat ones are gluten-free? I know the full fat are fine, but I ate 2 low fat ones today at a BBQ and did ot know they were low fat ones till later :unsure: , have a belly ache since 1 hour after eating them, it could be just a belly ache but I really want to know if they are safe because I'm having a big Birthday BBQ for my mom next weekend

thanks so much


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Sorry Betty, no help from me tonight. Can't see the list of ingred... :(


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I looked online because I don't have the package..this is the list of the reduced fat and the 97% fat free..not 100% sure which onesI ate but I think they were the 97% fat free

reduced fat:

INGREDIENTS: Beef, water, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, flavorings, paprika, potassium chloride, potassium phosphates, garlic powder, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite.

97% fat free

INGREDIENTS: Beef, water, modified food starch*, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, spice, paprika, potassium chloride, natural flavorings, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite.

*Ingredient in excess of amount permitted in regular beef franks.

I hope they're ok????


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have head that they are gluten free. With the holiday weekend, I am not sure that you can call the ww.number. They would be required to list wheat.

Have a good holiday weekend.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified food starch is almost always corn. If it is wheat, the presence of wheat must be disclosed under FALCPA, either as "modified food starch (wheat)" or "Contains: Wheat" on the label by US law. If it is not corn, and is not wheat either, then I suppose it could be another gluten source, but I have never found MFS that was from rye, barley or even oats.

There are some who do not trust this, but personally I don't believe any large, or publicly traded, company would deliberately violate the law. If they were caught, the damage to their reputation, and as a result to the share price, would be too high. It just does not make sense that they would do it.

My two cents.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This may be a dumb question but they weren't grilled near the buns, were they?

I've run into that problem before.


Karen B.

diagnosed with Celiac Nov. 2003

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks ladies, I think they were ok too

nope no buns went on the grill, I made my son toast his in the house in the toaster oven.


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Modified food starch is almost always corn. If it is wheat, the presence of wheat must be disclosed under FALCPA, either as "modified food starch (wheat)" or "Contains: Wheat" on the label by US law. If it is not corn, and is not wheat either, then I suppose it could be another gluten source, but I have never found MFS that was from rye, barley or even oats.

There are some who do not trust this, but personally I don't believe any large, or publicly traded, company would deliberately violate the law. If they were caught, the damage to their reputation, and as a result to the share price, would be too high. It just does not make sense that they would do it.

My two cents.

Keeping in mind that they are kosher and "answer to a higher authority" makes it less likely they would be hiding anything in the ingredient list too. I've had much better success at identifying gluten in kosher food ingredients. Now, I admit my knowledge about keeping kosher is limited, but I know people that do worry about it and they check out ingredients like a Celiac would.


Karen B.

diagnosed with Celiac Nov. 2003

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sometimes hot dogs are just harder for you body to digest, I had a hebrew national the other week and wound up with a pretty bad stomach ache myself..sometimes it has something to do with the natural flavorings...usually Kosher means they're pretty legit and they were cooked on their own hot dog cooker thing away from all bread...could've just been a spice that set your stomach off...I don't eat many hot dogs these days!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest KG in FL
Sometimes hot dogs are just harder for you body to digest, I had a hebrew national the other week and wound up with a pretty bad stomach ache myself..sometimes it has something to do with the natural flavorings...usually Kosher means they're pretty legit and they were cooked on their own hot dog cooker thing away from all bread...could've just been a spice that set your stomach off...I don't eat many hot dogs these days!!

I don't eat hot dogs much either due to the fact I can have no buns. (haha!) But after reading this thread today, I had to go get some. The Kosher seemed right and safe, but I somehow was scared of what you just wrote Mahee34. The spices! And I was also really tempted to have a bun!! And I can't!! I looked up the recipes for the buns to cook myself and was going to go for it. Even without a bun pan. Then the chores took my time and... I was hungry!! This is so weird, but with no buns, I took a Joan's gluten-free Great Bakes english muffin and put the hot dog on top, covered it with all the good stuff, including chedder cheese and German curry ketsup, and ate it open faced with a fork.... it was excellent!! Pretty wild I must say (haha!), but really good. I didn't know I could have hot dogs without the stereotypical bun. I am glad to have found a good way to eat these. I'd do it again.

But now I am scared of the stomach problems. Although everything should be safe.... It was good though!! Hopefully no update to follow this and all will end A-OK!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the record,

I ONLY eat Hebrew National Hot Dogs. I have a friend that works in their food science department. He told me all of their hot dogs are gluten free.

I also buy the gluten free hot dog buns at Whole Foods made by Kinninkinnick - they are serviceable but not great...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I will say I've never had a problem with the regular franks, the dinner franks or the reduced fat franks but spices don't bother me. I don't eat them as often as I would like because they are loaded with fat and salt. Even the reduced fat franks are not what I'd call "health food" :-)

But they sure are good!


Karen B.

diagnosed with Celiac Nov. 2003

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites