Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sjust

Converting A Recipe To Gluten Free

I want to convert a peaunt butter cookie recipe to gluten free. The recipe calls for 1/2 cup all purpose flour. Does anyone know what I would use instead? Also is there a general rule or does it depend on what I am making. I am new to this gluten thing and still trying to figure it all out. Thanks for the help.

Sarah

Sarah 29 gluten-free for daughter since March 2007

Rebecca 12/21/06 apppears to be sensitive to all foods FFT

Robbie 1/12/07 cashew allergy, doing better off gluten

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Hi - If it were me I would use 1/2 cup all purpose gluten-free flour instead. Bob's Red Mill is one option that will likely work. Generally, when I bake (b/c I'm not a real expert at baking) I just substitute all-purpose gluten-free flour for all-purpose regular flour at a ratio of 1:1. In cakes and some breads I add 1 tsp. xanthan gum as well.

There are millions of different gluten-free flours that do millions of different things, but I just keep it simple.

PB cookies are good flourless too:

1 cup pb

1 cup sugar

1 egg

mix together and bake at (350 maybe?) for about 10 mins or until done. Makes 6 cookies.

"Let food be thy medicine, and let thy medicine be food." - Hippocrates

Thanks for the advice. I tried the flourless ones but the were too dry for my husband who is having a hard time with the gluten free thing.

Sarah 29 gluten-free for daughter since March 2007

Rebecca 12/21/06 apppears to be sensitive to all foods FFT

Robbie 1/12/07 cashew allergy, doing better off gluten