This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New Dh- So Many Questions!

ItchyMeredith

ItchyMeredith Contributor

Hi-

This is my first time at this board. I am really excited to find it. My mind is reeling because I have been trying to figure out this rash for 2 yeas and my dermatologist just left a message on my phone saying that my skin biopsy shows that it is DH and I need to go gluten free. I feel like it was a hit and run phone call because that is all he explained. I have been all over the internet today and the rash I have does indeed look like DH. This seems so random to me. I thought I was allergic to pregnancy or breastfeeding hormones because the two times I have had this rash it manifested when I was 2 months post partum with my 2 boys. Has anyone heard of that? I have a few questions and ANY advice would be greatly appreciated.

*Is this related to celiac disease?

*Does this mean I have celiac or should be tested? I am concerned because my grandmother died of stomach and colon cancer. She had digestive problems all of her adult life but lived in Colombia so may have not been diagnosed properly.

*What harm would it do if I didn

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ursa Major Collaborator

Hi Meredith, and welcome to these boards.

I will try to answer your questions as best as I can.

Not only is it related to celiac disease, having DH means that you have celiac disease.