This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Diabetes And Time Change

elye

elye Community Regular

A couple of weeks ago I posted with my questions about jetlag. We are travelling to Europe in a month, and I've never done a six-hour time change before. I got some great advice on how to best get onto the new time, i.e., plenty of water, sleeping on the flight, staying out in daylight etc. Now I have a question for any other type one diabetics out there who have made this kind of time change. I am taking two shots a day and have very precise times for meals and daily workouts (my sleep time stays fairly rigid, as well). This has allowed me to maintain tight blood sugar control for many years. Now, I am flummoxed as to how I can make this two-week change work. Should I keep the times of my shots the same? This would mean injecting at 1 pm instead of 7 am, as I do here, and then at 10 pm instead of 4 pm. But then I will be sleeping right after I inject, and my meals will be at totally different times relative to my shots. Help!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Guest Doll