Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ItchyMeredith

Is Breastfeeding Safe?

I was just diagnosed on Friday with DH and therefore celiac. I am VERY new to all of this but I have one urgent concern.

Is my breastmilk safe for my baby?? I currently breastfeed my 8 month old baby and donate my extra milk to HIV babies in Africa. I just let the milk bank know of my diagnosis and received the following email:

"I have already received a reply from the Medical Director regarding the dermatitis herpitiformis.

I regret to say that this skin condition is one in which we cannot accept milk for donation. The disease is a maladaptive response of the lgA system and lgA shows up in large quantities in milk. Our Medical Director advises that you do not donate your milk formally or informally to anyone."

I am extremely sad and disappointed that I am no longer able to donate but now I am also concerned about my little one. Is the IgA in my milk something to be concerned about for my little one? My only celiac symptom is this rash. I am very healthy otherwise.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Meredith

DH positive skin biopsy June 2007

Blood test positive July 2007

Gluten Free- since 6-23-07

Vegetarian since 1991

Stay-at-home Mommy to:

Kellen 2-05

Cameron 10-06

Scarlett 5-09

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

It is perfectly safe for you to keep breastfeeding your baby. Your IGA should go down very quickly on a gluten-free diet, and your milk shouldn't be a concern for anybody when that happens.

I am a German citizen, married to a Canadian 29 years, four daughters, one son, seven granddaughters and four grandsons, with one more grandchild on the way in July 2009.

Intolerant to all lectins (including gluten), nightshades (potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, eggplant) and salicylates.