Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

MP8023

Modified Food Starch And Dannon Yogurt

Recommended Posts

Hello. I am on my fourth week of the gluten-free diet and learning a lot from the forum, so thank you! My doctors think I may have a gluten sensitivity, but the blood test revealed that I fortunately do not have celiac. I don't know what "good" feels like, so I can't determine whether I have been glutened. I am having a hard time learning whether certain ingredients like modified food starch has gluten. I have e-mailed some companies to inquire, but Dannon notes that they can't guarantee it. Has anyone had any experience with Dannon Light n Fit and learned whether it is safe? Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Hello. I am on my fourth week of the gluten-free diet and learning a lot from the forum, so thank you! My doctors think I may have a gluten sensitivity, but the blood test revealed that I fortunately do not have celiac. I don't know what "good" feels like, so I can't determine whether I have been glutened. I am having a hard time learning whether certain ingredients like modified food starch has gluten. I have e-mailed some companies to inquire, but Dannon notes that they can't guarantee it. Has anyone had any experience with Dannon Light n Fit and learned whether it is safe? Thank you!

Hello, I'm pretty new to this whole thing, too. I'm not sure the answer to that, but if anyone else out there would like to help us with different addiitives and what's ok and what not, that would be great. I've been feeling so much better, but I've also cut almost everything out of my diet. I'm down to the most raw diet. Plain veggies, chicken, fish and sometimes (occassionally) fruit. That is what I live off of. I made a Protein pancake the other day with Quinoa,100% Pro Performance Whey (from GNC) and egg white replacement and I had a bad reaction. I didn't know that any of that stuff would bother me because I thought it was gluten free, but apparently not? Is there some ingredient in any of that that anyone knows of that is a "non-no?" It's so frustrating!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dannon may use gluten as a stabilizer in their products. Yoplait yogurts are mostly gluten free (except for obvious flavors) and will list their gluten. There are many companies that will fully disclose gluten on their labels. If you're not dealing with one of those companies then I recommend that you call the company directly because they are your best source of information regarding their product. I am especially cautious about natural flavors and spices. There have been debates on here about modified food starch. It is almost always made out of corn or wheat, and all companies are required to disclose wheat because wheat is one of the top 8 allergens (other forms of gluten are not). It's your call.

Someone posted this list of manufacturers that will list gluten on the labels. I called all of them just to be safe, and I recommend that you do the same. Personally, I also avoid ConAgra. I've called them 5 times in the last 4 months and the last time was the first time that I actually got someone who sounded like the knew what they are talking about regarding gluten labeling. She did say that they will disclose gluten, but I try to avoid their products if possible or I call them. Again, it's your call.

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten


Jenny

Son 6 yrs old, Positive blood work, Outstanding dietary response, no biopsy.

Household mostly gluten free since 3/07

Me: HLA-DQ 02 & 0302 (DQ 08), which I ran & analyzed myself!Currently gluten lite, negative tTG, asymptomatic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you all for your help. Sometimes I feel like every week I am starting all over because I learn something new. I feel as if maybe I will never know. I don't feel a ton better, but suspect that I am eating too much of other non-gluten foods that could be causing problems, such as sugars or dairy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There have been debates on here about modified food starch. It is almost always made out of corn or wheat, and all companies are required to disclose wheat because wheat is one of the top 8 allergens (other forms of gluten are not).

Ditto.

I check the allergen statement ... if it doesn't say "wheat" then I don't worry about the modified food starch.

If it doesn't have an allergen statement at all (there are some labels like this still out there, but they should be fewer and fewer), I don't trust it.

You might want to keep a food diary to see if your symptoms happen after a certain food. It's also not a bad idea to do an elimination diet. Take out all allegens (basically eat meat, veggies and rice). After a couple weeks of feeling good, add foods back in one at a time to see how you react. Wait a few days before adding in a new food.

Could you also have candida issues?


gluten-free 12/05

diagnosed with Lyme Disease 12/06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hello, I'm pretty new to this whole thing, too. I'm not sure the answer to that, but if anyone else out there would like to help us with different addiitives and what's ok and what not, that would be great. I've been feeling so much better, but I've also cut almost everything out of my diet. I'm down to the most raw diet. Plain veggies, chicken, fish and sometimes (occassionally) fruit. That is what I live off of. I made a Protein pancake the other day with Quinoa,100% Pro Performance Whey (from GNC) and egg white replacement and I had a bad reaction. I didn't know that any of that stuff would bother me because I thought it was gluten free, but apparently not? Is there some ingredient in any of that that anyone knows of that is a "non-no?" It's so frustrating!

Without knowing which egg replacement you used, my immediate instinct would be cross contamination from the GNC protein powder. I refuse to use any GNC products for that reason, as everytime I've contacted them about various products I got lengthy CYA statements. I know they produce several other supplement powders, bars, and drinks that contain wheat and/or oats, so my guess is they produce everything on shared machinery.

If you can confirm that the egg replacement is gluten free, try using EAS 100% whey, Optimum Nutrition whey, or Jay Robb's for your protein powder.

Also, make sure none of the utensils you used to prepare your new pancakes were used in the past for gluteny things. First thing I did when I went gluten free was buy all new utensils, and then bark at my kids if they even looked at my stuff B)

Good luck, and hang in there, it gets better


John

positive blood tests 2/07

positive endoscopy 2/07

colonoscopy with benign polyps 2/07

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I eat Yoplait, Mountain High and Cascade Fresh yogurt brands. Mountain High and Cascade Fresh say gluten free on the carton. Since ingredients of all food products are subject to change I always check the lables before I buy anything.


Phyllis

Gluten Free - 30 years

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites